Royce Rabe

Today’s Current
Today's Current
Published in
2 min readAug 20, 2018

Originally published on October 17, 2017.

By Luda Isakharov

Name:
Royce Rabe

Grade:
12

Age:
17

How long have you been playing football?
I’ve been playing football since my junior year.

Who is your ultimate athlete inspiration?
My ultimate athlete inspiration would have to be Muhammad Ali.

How have you grown as an athlete and a person in your time playing Glencoe football?
Playing football at Glencoe has made me a better person overall because the sport teaches you to get knocked down and then get right back up. Just like life in the real world. As an athlete, I have definitely grown. Our coaches help us get better and stronger every single day.

Can you describe your most recent injury and how it happened?
I was running some drills before practice and started having very severe chest pain. I went to the doctor a day later and found out I had a spontaneous pneumothorax, meaning air had leaked from my lung and was stuck in between my chest and my lung. I was put in the hospital for three days.

What is your road to recovery right now?
My road to recovery is mainly going to consist of rest. I’ll be out in a couple weeks but should be back for our last game.

What and who has been your biggest support system during and after the time of your injury?
My mom has definitely been my biggest supporter through this whole ordeal. She stayed with me in the hospital and the whole time helped me stay positive.

What are your future plans regarding sports?
I don’t have any plans for sports in college other than some intramural volleyball in between classes.

If you could thank one person for how far you’ve come, who would it be?
If I had to thank one person for how far I’ve come it would have to be my dad. He’s always helped me succeed and become a better man.

--

--