Sarah Mauk: Athlete of the Week

Today’s Current
Today's Current
Published in
2 min readAug 20, 2018
Photo Credits to Lizzie Roozen

Originally Published on October 3, 2017.

By Alexandra Moore

Name: Sarah Allison Mauk

Grade: Junior

Positions: Forward, Midfield, Defense, Goalkeeper

How Many Years have you played soccer? What year did you make Varsity?

“I have been playing soccer for 11 years, and I made Varsity three years ago as a Freshman.”

What goals have you scored this season?

“I have scored 10 out of the 22 goals scored by our team. I scored one against Hillsboro, one against St. Helens, one against Corvallis, four against Southridge, two against Beaverton, and one against Century.”

Why did you start playing soccer?

“Well I’m the youngest of four kids, so I kind of just saw my older siblings play, especially my sister Melissa, and it got me into it.”

What is your ultimate goal in soccer?

“Obviously playing professionally like for the National Team or in The NWSL (National Women’s Soccer League) would be a dream, but playing for a college is where I’m focused right now.”

What is your biggest accomplishment?

“Definitely playing at Nationals with my club team in Chicago this past summer.”

What is your favorite quote?

“Well we actually have a list of all the funny things our coach says, and so my favorite quote is actually one by him. It’s “I wouldn’t ask you to do this if you weren’t awesome.” It just makes it so when he’s asking me to do a bunch of stuff I don’t want to do I remember it and do it.”

When asked about Sarah and what role she plays on the team Coach Josh Richards said this:

“She’s so valuable because she is a complete player who can play anywhere on the field. Over the past three years, she’s put the team over herself time and time again, and has shown that she will play wherever and do whatever for the team. This year we needed a striker. She’s skilled, fast, and is a physical presence, and when you combine the three of those you have a very dangerous player around the goal. What we have seen the last few games is her confidence is soaring, and confident strikers score goals.”

--

--