Heroin Avenue

*Reader Discretion Strongly Advised.*

Michael Patanella
Today's Story
3 min readFeb 16, 2018

--

*This is by no means intended to glorify the subject at hand, nor is this meant to be War Stories. This is just Brutal Honesty. And a life or death warning. Think twice before you choose to skim or not read.*

It is just so scary and sad to sit here and think about all the horrific things I have involved myself in through all the years of my bad times. I have had a lot of Sobriety time, but the times of relapsing seemed to literally have a much stronger power then Sobriety (believe it or not).

Thinking about the city of Trenton, I have realized for a Heroin addict, it is very dangerous being in that city.

It is literally the Devil’s playground. It is a very sad situation. For those who play, never seem to play long.

Trenton Heroin is very cheap, very potent, and easier to get than a bottle of liquor. The business of Heroin is organized. The availability is so abundant, that no matter how much police you throw on the fire, the results only become equal to putting one drop of water onto a burning towering inferno.

The business is just too powerful, too organized, too protected, and too in demand. I hear of someone local, overdosing, and dying every single day. There are a few dozen “brands” of Heroin available on the Trenton streets, at any given time.

There are bags of Heroin, each coming stamped with their own label. The stamp colors can vary from red, to blue, black, or purple. The stamp names can literally be anything, whether related to Current events, Local trends, Politics.

For instance…..

I’ve seen red stamp “DonaldTrump” label. Another red stamp called “Overdose.” Also a purple stamp “Kevin Hart.” As well as also a black stamp “Batman.” It hit the streets when the movie was new. Also a purple stamp called “It.” For the Stephen Kings book & movie.

I have seen hundreds of stamps in Trenton’s 8 square miles.

Us dope fiends would get a choice, just like choosing a drink, like selecting Coke or Pepsi.So organized, so convenient, but also….so sick, so ashamed, so disgusting, so evil.

I again mention, how cheap the prices are, and how scary it is. And for reasons I’m not sure, the prices have gone down approximately 110% in the past 13 years.

If we keep picking the shit up, we are gonna die. I would hate to admit this, but if there were no negative consequences, I would had never quit. But the negative consequences have brought me so close to death, that to use again, would make me inhuman, not only not caring about myself, but not caring about my loved ones either.

Dear Lord, Thank you for one more day sober. Let’s repeat tomorrow.

--

--

Michael Patanella
Today's Story

Author, Publisher, and Editor. I cover mindfulness, mental health, addiction, sobriety, life, and spirituality among other things. MichaelPatanella.medium.com