Wasted Talent; An Addict’s Plea For Help

Michael Patanella
Today's Story
Published in
3 min readOct 7, 2018

*Reader Discretion Advised.*

At the end of the day, it most certainly requires not only the words of a person’s BLOOD Family to make an autobiography. A life story. A non fiction documentary. Something that’s GUT WRENCHING,SOMETHING THAT ALMOST VIOLENTLY PULLS AT THE HEARTSTRINGS;

LIFE & DEATH STORY OF URGENCY.

This last chance idea would be more than just another “ol pipe dream fantasy of mine.” It just can’t & won’t go anywhere without my loved and closest ones STRONG help. Help Physically, emotionally, & mentally. With tears in my eyes, im asking, you to please walk in my shoes on this journey.

Let’s use the damage I’ve done to myself, and the incredible pain I caused you all, to help someone.

Let’s turn it around. Make none of it in Vain.

Open to the world what I and my loved ones been feeling & experiencing upward of close to 2 decades. Let’s make the results of pure hell something of success and beauty. Without getting sidetracked on a somewhat fork in the road; please be assured, this is my last chance.

Its OUR last chance to make this project of humanity such an incredible reality. And this all goes way beyond the “reassurance” that loved ones are so sincere in giving. Yes i know people Love me. Yes i know that some are sincerely proud to have me as a friend. Yes i know many do not think im a failure & i believe that you believe yourselves. But I’m the only one who knows me better than anyone know me.

I know best.

I live with the VOID WITHIN.

I know that my story has the ability to help tens, maybe hundreds of thousands. I’m not looking to become a millionaire. If I ever would ask for financial Support, it would not be in order for me to get handouts to go on a gambling spree or spend on ounces of coke & dope. To all of you, and to myself, its time to realize that its time we’re losing.

Time to NOT sit back and idly Watch a terrible thing evolve and grow strength.

That “thing” my people is “WASTED TALENT. “

Through the examples I’ve set, we’ve learned that Wasted Talent is a negatively progressive, chronic, relapsing condition. A positive idea literally gets placed into my hands, only to be thrown away. I believe that the saddest thing in Mankind is Wasted Talent.

I want to motivate a movement not to exploit a victim of Wasted Talent but instead to EXPOSE Talent….Give it a chance to shine. I can’t do it alone.

Please, Please HELP me. I have lived with the emptiness, loneliness, & shameful feeling of Wasted Talent.

I have become addicted to REDEMPTION.

--

--

Michael Patanella
Today's Story

Author, Publisher, and Editor. I cover mindfulness, mental health, addiction, sobriety, life, and spirituality among other things. MichaelPatanella.medium.com