Rewind: A Field Guide To Profiting From Big Mistakes (Episode 1)

Todd Moses
Todd Insights
Published in
3 min readApr 30, 2020

--

Before showcasing other people’s boneheaded decisions, I will lead the way with my own. From here, there will be stories of others’ mistakes. Including how they used them to springboard into success.

UPDATE: Rewind now has new Episodes: https://toddmoses.com/rewind

If you are interested in sharing your own big mistake, please contact me via https://toddmoses.com/about/contact. Otherwise, let’s get started.

While picking up my youngest from preschool, I was told that tomorrow is “Doughnuts with Dad” day. An event where fathers visit their children at school for breakfast. The teacher explained it with such joy, and asked, “will you be able to attend?” With a slight pause, I proclaimed, “if I can.” Her face saddened.

During this time, I was Lead Engineer for a hedge fund. A position that made me believe my importance to the company was greater than it actually was. Working weekends, going to employer-sponsored events, and just being absent from home was the norm. However, we had zero financial concerns.

Asking for time off for anything, especially children, was a fast way to be shown the door. Wanting to be promoted, I decided to skip the “Doughnuts with Dad” and arrive at the office early. “I have to work and will not be there today,”…

--

--