Sonaiya Wilson
Together We Can
Published in
4 min readMay 6, 2021

--

A Mother’s Love

There is nothing like a mother’s love! Thank you to every mother, grandmother and mother figure in our lives for your endless strength, smiles and support. May all the love you gave to us come back to you a hundredfold on this special day.

Below are a collection of messages written to the mothers of individuals in recovery from Together We Can.

Steven Hall, TWC Community Relations Lead/Alumnus and his mother Toni

“Every day that I am clean, I learn to show more love and gratitude for the strong, compassionate woman my mother is. She has always been by my side, and a life in recovery has allowed me to become a son she is proud of.”

Keith McNeil, TWC Operations Coordinator/alumnus & his mother Judy

“My mom has been my mother on Mother’s Day and my father on Father’s Day. She’s been my rock to lean on and a shoulder to cry on. I could not put into words on how much you mean to me and how much I appreciate everything you’ve done for me. You’ve taught me how to be the man I am today and you never gave up on me.

Happy mother’s day mom, I love you 5ever — because it’s longer than forever.”

Baby Max Parfitt, TWC Support Supervisor/alumnus and his mother Barb

“My mother Barb has been my protector since birth, my biggest support throughout my whole life and my best friend. My mom has supported me throughout all the tough times in my life from problems at school, missing work, to showing up at my court appearances and all my trials and tribulations in recovery. My sobriety date is June 14th 2016 and a day has not gone by where I am not grateful to have such a great mother. We have cried together, laughed together, yelled at each other, hugged each other but no matter what has happened, good or bad I am a mommy’s boy at heart and will love my mother unconditionally till the day I die.”

Stacy Wilson, Executive Director of TWC and his mother Joan

“I am truly blessed. My mother has shown me unconditional love through thick and thin. One precious gift of recovery is being able to tell my mom that I love her.”

Mike Cain, TWC Counsellor/alumnus and his mother Darlene

“My mom Darlene and I on her 65th birthday. I had the privilege of taking her to see Paul McCartney (one of her all time faves). It’s nice to be able to be present with my mom. Was a fun night and I look forward to spending many more of her birthdays having fun new experiences.”

Nick Randell, TWC Senior Support Worker/alumnus and his mother Marlene

“Wow.. what can I not say about my beautiful mother. You brought me Into this world and you were a big piece that kept me here as well when I was in my addiction. I probably got more support then I deserved back then and I’m forever grateful for you. I’m so glad we have the relationship we do now but I wish we were closer lol. Happy mothers day I love you mom.❤”

Justin Bournon, TWC Support Worker/alumnus and his mother Melissa

“Happy Mother’s Day, I love you so much and thanks for always being there for me.”

Jordan S, TWC Support Worker/Alumnus and Kyle S, TWC Alumnus with their mother Linda

“My mom is literally the epitome of strength and understanding. For years I have inadvertently crushed her with my self destruction and toxic behavior, but no matter what — she is strong, and has my back. Through thick and thin, she has always been like an angel for me and my little brother. I can’t say enough about how great she is, I love her more than anything in the world. Happy Mothers Day mom!”

Steven S, TWC Alumnus and his mother Lauree

“My mom has always been there for me no matter what!! Heres to Lauree Gallant.”

Michelle, loving wife of Mark Oliveira, TWC Alumnus/Chef and his mother Maria
Mother-in-law Jocelyn, loving wife Michelle and Mark Oliveira, TWC Chef & Alumnus

“My mom Maria and Mother in law Jocelyn are 2 beautiful strong and wonderful women in my life.

“I’m so grateful for the life lessons and the unconditional love they both give me. Happy Mother’s Day Mom and Mommy Jocelyn!”

Last Mother’s Day we put together a video slideshow if you wish to check it out on the TWC Youtube Channel: https://youtu.be/f5GkUhkfdLU

To learn more about the amazing staff, volunteers, and residents of Together We Can, visit our website: https://twcrecoverylife.org

--

--