Be my guest at the Togethereum podcast

Adam Schmideg
Togethereum
Published in
2 min readMar 26, 2019

Let's decentralize ourselves

My friends called me restless. I am not. I have been looking for my place since childhood. The optimal place. I realized recently it’s not only a search. The optimal place doesn’t exist yet. I have to create it. I have to change myself and my environment.

I tried many things, from movement theater to Gestalt-therapy to functional programming. Now I found a place. It’s the world of blockchain and Ethereum. It’s not the optimal place. Yet. It’s a decentralized organization (or self-organization if there is such a word). It’s a rich and fertile community. Or a mess, depending on how you look at it. My goal is to get one step closer to the optimal place.

But how? I don’t know. Yet. I want interview people to find out, together. Find out at two levels, at the individual and at the organizational level.

I want to interview two kinds of people. If you belong to the wider Ethereum community, I want to hear your stories about it. How does it work? What are its aspects that made you stick around? Tell me your story how you got into it. And tell me a story if you have one what made you almost leave and never look back. What advice would you give to a newcomer? What did you try to achieve here and failed miserably? What did you learn from it? How did you find/create your place?

If you are outside the Ethereum community, I want to hear your stories of other decentralized organizations. Stories of successful and failed utopias and the theories behind them. What are the mistakes we should not repeat.

How do you think we will work together in 2027? Or next year? How is a decentralized organization different? Is it for everybody? How is this different from open source software projects?

I will ask you similar questions in the first part of the podcast. I’ll also follow my curiosity in the moment. Then in the last 5–10 minutes you ask me questions. I’ll set the tone by then, but you’re free to digress.

Be my guest.

Adam

I tried many things, from movement theater to Gestalt-therapy to functional programming. Now I found a place. It’s the world of blockchain and Ethereum. It’s not the optimal place. Yet. It’s a decentralized organization (or self-organization if there is such a word). It’s a rich and fertile community. Or a mess, depending on how you look at it. My goal is to get one step closer to the optimal place.

But how? I don’t know. Yet. I want interview people to find out, together. Find out at two le

--

--