The distribution of interesting people by country

Adam Schmideg
Togethereum
Published in
1 min readFeb 22, 2022
Artbreeder

My friend, we’ve met only a few times and I call her a friend, she has a theory about interesting people. I’m not sure I agree with it however much sense it made at first. She says people of our generation in Hungary tend to be more interesting than those in the Netherlands. We’re both from Hungary and she married a Dutch guy she presumably found interesting at the time. If you were born to Hungary in the 1970’s, you didn’t see money playing a big role. I had a class mate, we knew they were poor, they lived in a studio flat. We also knew dentists made a good money, but what could they use it for? For me as a child what mattered was the size of the ice cream, the number of scoops one could afford. Zero for the poor, maybe three for the rich, you can’t eat more than three anyway. My other class mate, not a poor one, wanted to become a dentist for the reason I just described. I doubt she enjoyed the buzz of the drill or delving in strangers’ mouths. The rest of us followed our interests.

--

--