The Girl who Turned into a Cat

Adam Schmideg
Togethereum
Published in
3 min readJun 17, 2022

The first time I turned into a cat, I was eight years old. My mom had just brought home a new kitten.

I picked her up and cuddled her close, and that’s when it happened. Suddenly, I felt my body start to change. My arms turned into furry legs, and my face stretched into a long feline snout. I hissed and scratched at the air, and then I was gone, vanished into a puff of smoke.

Whenever I got too close to a cat, I would turn into one. It was like I was cursed.

My mom took me to see a doctor, but they couldn’t figure out what was wrong with me. The tests came back normal. So they told my mom to keep me away from cats.

But that was easier said than done. Cats are everywhere. And I turned into one whenever I got too close to one.

It was a nightmare. I was a prisoner in my own home, afraid to go outside or even leave my room. I was scared of what would happen if I turned into a cat in public.

Eventually, my mom couldn’t take it anymore. She gave me away to a family with no cats. A lonely little girl, turning into a cat whenever I get too close to one.

I stared out the window and sighed. It was another dreary day outside. I’d been living with my new family for over a year, and I hadn’t turned into a cat since the first day here.

I was almost happy here. But I was still incredibly lonely. There were no kids my age anywhere nearby.

Today, I think I might have a solution.

I just got a letter in the mail. It was from a company called Cat-Be-Gone. They said they had an experimental treatment that could cure my cat problem. If it worked, I would be able to pet cats again, and I wouldn’t turn into one every time.

It sounded too good to be true. But I guess I didn’t have anything to lose. So I signed up for the treatment.

I’m a little nervous, but also kind of excited. I mean, imagine if I could go outside again, and have friends, and pet cats.

The doctors are here, and one of them is thrusting a syringe into my arm. It stings a little bit, but I’m just excited to see what happens.

“Ow, ow, ow!”

I turn away from the window, and rub the spot where the needle was. I am feeling kind of dizzy, but I am still me. I haven’t turn into a cat.

“That’s good,” says the doctor. He is the same one who gave me the shot. “You’re still human.”

“I didn’t turn into a cat?” I ask.

“No, you’re still human,” he repeats. “You have a severe case of cat allergy, but we have a cure for that. You shouldn’t turn into a cat anymore.”

I grin. That is great news! I am free! I can leave the house! I can meet my mom again! I can have friends! I can pet cats!

“That’s good,” says my mom, who is standing behind the doctor. She is here with me. She is smiling. “I was worried it wouldn’t work, but you’re not turning into a cat anymore.”

I grin. “I’m just human again.”

“Yes, you’re just human again” she repeats.

“Humans are great,” I say. “I’m glad I’m human.”

“Me too,” says my mom.

“So am I,” said the doctor. “So am I.”

They both smile, then leave the room. I am alone again, but that’s okay. I am happy. I am just human again.

I hear a meow, and turn around.

There is a cat at my window. It is staring right at me.

--

--