Everybody’s Such a Stranger

But that’s the danger in going our own way.

Adam J. Cheshier
Adam J. Cheshier

--

Photo by Sasha Freemind on Unsplash

The holiday season has officially come and passed. Many of us experienced our first holiday season away from people closest to us. It’s one of many impacts COVID-19 has had on our lives.

Although it’s not entirely the same, I’ve spent many holidays alone in my six-year journey as a nomad. None were tougher than the first year, which, to be truthful, wasn’t so difficult.

Here’s how I got by spending the holidays without family around.

In 2015, I spent my first year abroad in Europe. Over the course of that year, I missed several holidays and celebrations. Most were family gatherings I hadn’t ever been away from home to miss.

I didn’t know what to expect being across the world. How would it feel and what kind of emotions would need to be overcome?

There were many times over the course of the year that I missed my family and friends back home. But, oddly, I never had an empty feeling over the holidays.

Photo by Ben White on Unsplash

--

--

Adam J. Cheshier
Adam J. Cheshier

Documenting obscure pockets of the world across long-distance overland expeditions. Recently celebrated 7 years of nomadism. https://linktr.ee/adam.cheshier