How I Find Comfort Abroad

Here’s a quick tip on making the most of your experience abroad.

Adam J. Cheshier
Adam J. Cheshier

--

Photo by Felix Rostig on Unsplash

The most important experience I ever lived was one year ago. I studied abroad in Malta for a semester that changed my life.

Before that, study abroad never interested me. I didn’t think I could afford it. It wasn’t until I realized how attainable it is when it piqued my interest.

What happened when I finally got there is beyond what I can explain. The experiences I got to live and the friendships I got to make were worth any amount of money.

Had I known it would’ve been what it was, I would have blown my whole savings just to get the opportunity.

Hell, I’d do that now if I got another opportunity to study abroad. It is something I can’t recommend enough and I know I am not the only one with this type of experience.

But, this article is not about studying abroad. It is about international friendship. And my journey to perpetual travel.

After that semester, I decided to travel around Europe for two months. I was scared when I left Malta. I didn’t know what to expect. I knew I’d meet up with some friends, but things would be different.

I realized what a crucial role they played in my travels. Everywhere I went, in ten

--

--

Adam J. Cheshier
Adam J. Cheshier

Documenting obscure pockets of the world across long-distance overland expeditions. Recently celebrated 7 years of nomadism. https://linktr.ee/adam.cheshier