This European Island Destination Deserves More Attention

Why so few are taking advantage of this Mediterranean dream.

Adam J. Cheshier
Adam J. Cheshier

--

Photo by Ostap Senyuk on Unsplash

It always amazes me the number of people I meet that have never heard of Malta.

It doesn’t matter where you’re from. This tiny island hardly gets any attention; even Europeans don’t know where it is!

Usually, travelers are more well-versed when it comes to world geography and on-goings. Yet, not even travelers know about this island country in the Mediterranean.

I remember when I first decided to move here, people from back home kept asking me, “What is Malta?”.

And even after I moved, people in Malta kept asking, “Why Malta?”.

It’s not common for Americans to visit Malta — much less live here. I began to question myself. Why, out of any place in the world, would I choose to move to Malta?

So, I took time to understand why I ended up staying.

Why I love Malta.

Over the past few weeks, I’ve challenged myself to get out and explore the country I live in. It’s easy, as it is anywhere else, to become complacent with where you are. Daily routines begin to get in the way as soon as complacency comes into the picture.

--

--

Adam J. Cheshier
Adam J. Cheshier

Documenting obscure pockets of the world across long-distance overland expeditions. Recently celebrated 7 years of nomadism. https://linktr.ee/adam.cheshier