Paper making villages in south China

Pavel Dvorak (@dvorakpaveljr)
Just my photojournal
3 min readFeb 9, 2018
Paper made by local villagers

Have you ever bought a pu-erh tea? Do you remember that paper pu-erh tea is wrapped in?

Thats all handmade. This paper is made in villages around south of Yunnan province, China. I call them paper-making-villages.

Every household is making paper. While exploring a new off the beaten path places for our itineraries we visited one of these small villages close to city called Tengchong. We were invited to see the process of how this paper is made.

Lady making the paper from these ingredients

It was pretty amazing. I stayed with this lovely lady for quite a time and she was super happy to let me take her portraits. Places like these are slowly disappearing and its nice to be able to preserve them in pictures.

Paper is put on these bamboo plates and thin, almost invisible layer of paper is put one on each other. When they dry up, they have this amazing textures.

After that we visited few more families and saw how they all make paper. It was just an amazing experience and I am so glad I could meet these friendly people.

--

--