My First Winter in Kyoto

Tom Vo
Tom in Kyoto
Published in
1 min readJun 16, 2017
15th January 2017

Today’s mild weather in Kyoto with sunshine, blue skies and 10°C feels like early spring. To express my gratitude for this beautiful day, I decided to post a picture from the extreme temperature we had to endure this Winter.
If you’re used to winter in Germany, Kyoto’s average of 5°C may sound just like the most amiable climate you could imagine. Unfortunately, I had the pleasure of experiencing one of the harshest winter in years where the temperature regularly dropped below the freezing point.
Granted, the temperature was still mild compared to Germany — without central heating and buildings lacking any cold-isolating qualities whatsoever.

The upside: The rare occasion of regular snowfall in Kyoto made the ancient capital of Japan the object of many photographers, desperate to catch a glimpse of sights you hardly ever see (imagine Kyoto’s 2,000 temples and shrines or the ancient districts with people dressed in Kimonos against the serene backdrop of pure white snow)

The downside: I got hit by a car and thus spent most of the days in my own room, far away from the magical landscapes people kept telling me about.

(This was first posted on 15 February 2017 on Instagram)

--

--