Tom: The Real Alternative is to “Break the Corporate Stranglehold” on the Government

Days before voters head to the polls in South Carolina, Tom took questions from Chris Cuomo and members of the audience as part of the hourlong individual CNN Town Hall.

Tom 2020
Tom Steyer
1 min readFeb 24, 2020

--

“I know there’s been a lot of talk this week about Bernie Sanders,” Tom said as he took the stage at Memminger Auditorium in Charleston, South Carolina. “And I think we all owe Bernie Sanders a lot of thanks for bringing up real issues that are confronting America and Americans.

“But I want to say I disagree with his solutions in many instances — I don’t think a government takeover of major parts of the American economy is a good idea. I don’t think it’s good for working people, I don’t think it’s good for families. I know that unchecked capitalism has failed.”

Instead, Tom said that the real alternative is to “break the corporate stranglehold” on the government.

Watch the following highlight from the CNN Town Hall:

Meet Tom Steyer.

--

--

Tom 2020
Tom Steyer

For years, Tom has worked to ensure people, not corporations, are in charge of our democracy. See the latest from Tom here: https://medium.com/tom-steyer