Journey with Codementor

Lost in Space
@tomchentw/software
3 min readMar 10, 2019

Recently I got an email from CodementorX.

Ok, obviously, not “recently”…I’m just getting lazy

I think it’s a great opportunity to share my journey with Codementor & CodementorX.

Back in autumn of 2014, I began my adventure with React.js as a Front-End framework selection. It definitely changed my life, as I look back from now. But at that time, I just no longer want to code in Rails anymore. I want to do mostly in Front-End development for my career path, but I don’t really know what’s my next step is if I quit my job.

Meeting rooms are named after Programming Languages. Guess what’s next?

I can’t really remember how and when did I meet Codementor, and the awesome founder Weiting Liu. Back then I joined them as a mentor to help people with programming needs. As an early adaptor of React.js in 2014, I began to gain attractions of my mentorships. People flock to me for help with their bugs of their React.js apps, or just some basic JavaScript logic issues combined with React.js.

Looking back from now, 2014 to 2015 was my golden age on Codementor. Most of my lifetime mentor session was done back then. I’ve hosted in total of 148 sessions with 122 all-five-stars reviews. Thanks to Weiting and the awesome Codementor team, it helps bring me, a Taiwanese developer, to the challenge of world-class level questions.

In 2017, they started a new service called CodementorX. The intention was simple: by matching those top-rated developers with clients in need for part-times or full-times. I signed up immediately and they’ve helped me matched with a few opportunities, and one offer turned out to be my current occupation.

Happy New Year

I’m thankful for everything happen around me. And appreciate my relationship with Codementor. They’re literally feeding me and keeping me warm. At the day I visited their office, I was in a toilet with empty tissues, and Weiting came with handful tissues just like a super hero. When I was about to leave, they even gave me a hoodie so that I’m not freezing to death with the weather.

Thanks for the hoodie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Thanks again! And I’m looking forward for the next big things of Codementor.

If you need an hire…

--

--

Lost in Space
@tomchentw/software

<Tom Chen> Aspie. Introvert. Remoter. Blogger. 「從程式碼的26個英文字母到文章的26個英文字母,開始發現寫作的魅力。」