Becoming a Youtuber

Sergey Piterman
Tomorrow People
Published in
5 min readDec 22, 2023
“Create an image of the ultimate YouTuber.”

I decided to go to Pacific Beach Run Club for the second time ever with my buddy George the other day. And of course, it happens to fall on a day when we get a torrential downpour. But that didn’t stop us, and if anything it made the experience more fun and memorable.

After we finished the 5K run we went to a bar and got pizza, George introduced me to some of the other members of the group and we got to chatting about YouTube and making videos. One girl mentioned how she doesn’t think anyone is growing on YouTube anymore, and how she doesn’t ever really watch it. She also didn’t really know how you would find anyone on YouTube that you aren’t already following, whereas on TikTok random people posting videos can get 100s of views on very average videos.

Even my friend George asked if I spent a lot of time on YouTube, with the implication that he doesn’t and that it’s a bit of a niche thing. Ironically these days I’ve been spending less time on it than usual, partially because I’ve been watching a lot more Instagram Reels, mainly because they are associated with my IG which is my primary social network to keep in touch with people. It’s also partially because I have the recommended videos on my homepage blocked on my laptop (the algorithm knows me too well and there’s always something on there I know I’ll end up clicking on). But mainly I’ve just been focusing more on my work and projects and can’t afford too many distractions. There are only so many hours in a day after all.

This conversation got me reflecting on what it means to be a content creator on that platform (but also in general) going into 2024. Right now it’s still a dream job of mine to be able to work full-time, for myself, making YouTube videos. Telling stories, educating myself and others and building a strong online community sounds amazing… in theory. However I also recognize, now more than ever, that this is not as easy as it looks, it can be a lot of work, it can be stressful and uncertain, and it is still a job at the end of the day. There are a lot of perks that come with having a nice cushy corporate job like the one I have.

I don’t know how this journey will play out for me exactly but I do know that I haven’t given up on it just yet and it’s a big part of where my focus and energy goes every day. The biggest thing that has helped me learn quickly and get a more realistic sense of what to expect has been being a part of CreatorNow for the past 2.5 years. It’s helped me set better expectations, ask the right questions, find the right resources, and learn from people with real-world experience in that industry.

It’s a strange space because it simultaneously feels very nascent, but there also seem to be people who are incredibly far along and who have built huge businesses on top of their online platforms. For example, when I went to Vidsummit in 2022, it seemed like a lot of the businesses the conference partnered with were there to provide creators with basic infrastructure like analytics, community management tools, IP protection services, and even just basic training on how to set up and run their business. But simultaneously you’ll have people like Mr. Beast who has built a 10 billion dollar brand and was named one of Time’s 100 most influential people. He’s clearly incredibly successful and more popular than most mainstream celebrities, and yet a lot of people still have never even heard of him or his videos.

All of this is to say, it’s an exciting space to be a part of still, even if it’s just to be a fly on the wall sometimes and watch these big creators take on new challenges, or even now watching friend start from 0 and become large successful creators in their own right.

I’ll end this post by sharing a video with some great advice from popular creators if you’re thinking about testing out the waters and becoming a creator yourself. And if you’d rather have a quick summary of the 15-minute video, here’s what Bard was able to come up with. Enjoy!

  1. Make 100 videos and improve with each one. Don’t get discouraged if your first few videos don’t get many views. Focus on creating content and improving your skills over time.
  2. There are infinite ways to improve your videos. This includes everything from the script and editing to the thumbnail and title. Experiment and find what works for you.
  3. Your niche can emerge over time. Don’t worry about finding the perfect niche before you start creating content. Just make videos about things you enjoy, and your niche will eventually develop.
  4. Use calls to action that encourage viewers to watch more of your content. For example, you could ask them to watch another video, like, comment, or subscribe.
  5. Think about 100 video ideas and then narrow it down to the top 10. This will help you come up with high-quality content that people will want to watch.
  6. Titles are important. Use curiosity to grab viewers’ attention and make them want to click on your video.
  7. It’s okay to make videos about things you’re interested in, even if you don’t think they’ll get a lot of views. You’re more likely to create good content if you’re passionate about the topic.
  8. Focus on what your audience wants to see. Pay attention to the comments and feedback you receive, and adjust your content accordingly.
  9. Small YouTube channels can lead to big opportunities. Don’t get discouraged if you don’t have a lot of subscribers or views. There are many other ways to be successful on YouTube, such as building relationships with other creators or getting a job in the industry.
  10. Be patient. It takes time to build a successful YouTube channel. Don’t get discouraged if you don’t see results overnight.

--

--

Sergey Piterman
Tomorrow People

Technical Solutions Consultant @Google. Software Engineer @Outco. Content Creator. Youtube @ bit.ly/sergey-youtube. IG: @sergey.piterman. Linkedin: @spiterman