Marcus Aurelius

Sergey Piterman
Tomorrow People
Published in
6 min readDec 21, 2023
“Here are the images of the statue of Marcus Aurelius contemplating the marvels of the modern world and extending into a futuristic space environment of a branching multiverse.”

“The happiness of your life depends upon the quality of your thoughts” — Marcus Aurelius

My friend left that quote on the whiteboard I keep on my fridge and I’ve been reflecting on it for the past couple weeks. It reminds me of this other quote from Lao Tzu:

I think I saw this quote as a poster on a wall at my first job in tech. Since then there have been several times where I’ve noticed that when I say things, even jokingly, I’m far more likely to act them out. For better or for worse. And that has given me pause when I think about who I surround myself with, and what kind of habits or actions I’ve been engaging in. Whether it’s minor things like making inappropriate jokes or comments, or major things like deciding to give up drinking or break up with a girlfriend.

Just like cell membranes, our minds are very much semi-permeable. It’s incorrect to say we are endlessly able to be manipulated, but it’s also true that we are more able to be influenced than we’d like to admit. This is why marketing works.

From there it’s easy to see that the rabbit hole goes much deeper and into questions of free will, determinism, randomness, quantum physics, parallel universes, and so on. But those are topics for another day.

To ground things back onto the title of this post, I had a cool thought the other day while I was meditating. I realized that I was able to do the same thing that Marcus Aurelius used to do, which was to meditate.

The word itself even seemed cool. You can define it to mean “finding your center” or “aligning yourself” and I like that a lot. Something I’ve noticed as I’ve gotten older is that sometimes it takes time to figure out what’s really going on in my own head.

What am I thinking right now? What am I feeling? What caused this reaction? Do I need to think about things that way or is there another way? Is this something a good workout, some food, and some sunshine can fix? Or do I need to have a tough conversation with someone? Or do I just need to stop procrastinating and start doing the thing I said I’d do?

All of these questions come up while meditating and wrestling with them has made my life immeasurably better.

Though I can’t claim to be an expert on Marcus Aurelius or his life, from what little I do know he seems to have been an extraordinary and wise person whose influence on stoic philosophy is still making a positive impact on people’s lives today far more directly it seems than anything he did as a Roman Emperor (although I admit there’s no way of truly disentangling those two notions).

When I think of the term philosopher in a modern context, a lot of negative connotations come to mind. I imagine someone who dabbles in a lot of subjects, has an answer for everything, prides themselves in being seen as an intellectual, and looks down condescendingly on others. I think part of this is influenced by the media and stereotypes, and there’s some truth in all of this.

But in a deeper sense, I do know how important having a grasp on philosophy is as a framework for living life practically. There are so many analogies I could use like saying that it’s an algorithm for making decisions or a set of lenses through which you can look at the world. It’s not just about knowledge for knowledge’s sake, it has real-world implications not just for being effective, but also for living a life worth living.

So much more to say here but I’ll leave you with a brief summary of Marcus Aurelius’ life and his book “Meditations”, courtesy of ChatGPT.

Marcus Aurelius, known as one of the most respected Roman Emperors and a notable Stoic philosopher, lived from 121 to 180 AD. His reign, from 161 to 180 AD, is often seen as the last part of the Pax Romana, an era of relative peace and stability across the Roman Empire.

Early Life and Background:

Born in Rome to a prominent family.

He was educated in philosophy and rhetoric, showing early interest in Stoicism.

Emperorship:

Co-ruled with Lucius Verus until Verus’s death in 169 AD.

His reign was marked by military conflicts, including wars with the Parthian Empire and Germanic tribes.

Despite these challenges, he is remembered for his just and temperate rule.

Contributions to Philosophy:

Aurelius is best known for his work “Meditations,” a series of personal writings and reflections.

His Stoic philosophy emphasized virtue, reason, and self-control.

“Meditations” provides insights into his thoughts on how to live a good and meaningful life, focusing on duty, rationality, and the natural order.

Legacy:

Marcus Aurelius is often held up as a model of the “philosopher-king,” a ruler who governs based on wisdom and virtue.

His Meditations continue to be influential in the fields of philosophy, ethics, and leadership.

He is considered one of the Five Good Emperors, a period noted for competent and just governance in the Roman Empire.

Aurelius’ impact extends far beyond his lifetime, influencing not just subsequent Roman leaders, but also shaping modern thought in various disciplines. His blend of practical wisdom and philosophical depth makes him a perennial subject of interest and study.

“Meditations” is a remarkable work by Marcus Aurelius, offering profound insights into Stoic philosophy. It’s unique because it wasn’t written for publication, but as a personal diary for self-reflection and self-improvement. The book is divided into twelve sections, each containing Aurelius’ thoughts and musings on different aspects of life, rooted in Stoicism.

Key Themes and Concepts:

The Nature of the Universe: Aurelius often reflects on the nature of the universe, emphasizing its rational structure and the importance of living in harmony with it.

Transience of Life: He frequently contemplates the temporary nature of human life, urging himself to focus on the present and act virtuously without concern for fame or external recognition.

Rationality and Self-Control: A central tenet of Stoicism, Aurelius underscores the importance of rational thought and self-control over emotions and desires.

Duty and Social Responsibility: He stresses the importance of duty, particularly his own as an emperor, to act for the common good and treat others with justice and empathy.

The Power of Perspective: Aurelius believes that our reality is shaped by our perceptions. He advises reframing negative situations to see the good in them.

Acceptance of Fate: He advocates for accepting what we cannot change, understanding that certain things are beyond our control, and focusing on our own actions and reactions.

Structure and Style:

The work is not organized thematically or in a linear fashion. Instead, it’s a collection of personal reflections varying in length and subject matter.

The style is direct and unpretentious, reflecting the personal nature of the writings.

Influence and Legacy:

“Meditations” is one of the greatest works of Stoic philosophy, offering timeless wisdom on resilience, morality, and the human condition.

Its teachings have been influential in various fields, including philosophy, psychology, and leadership, appealing to a wide range of readers from all walks of life.

The book continues to be revered for its profound yet practical insights into dealing with life’s challenges and uncertainties.

“Meditations” remains a key text for those interested in Stoic philosophy and anyone seeking guidance on living a life of virtue, purpose, and inner peace. It’s not just a philosophical treatise but a guide to living well, making it a timeless classic.

--

--

Sergey Piterman
Tomorrow People

Technical Solutions Consultant @Google. Software Engineer @Outco. Content Creator. Youtube @ bit.ly/sergey-youtube. IG: @sergey.piterman. Linkedin: @spiterman