How Confident Are You? Here Is How You Put It To The Test.

Josh Kartchner
Tools for Entrepreneurs
3 min readJan 14, 2017

--

Being confident in yourself is essential to your success. I am learning that to some degree my confidence is a result of what I have accomplished but I am learning that the most essential ingredient to confidence is a belief in what one is capable of becoming.

Within each of us we have a sense of pride and we want to hold to that. Its hard to do something we are not good at. We only want to show what we are great at. But that’s easy.

There are two types of people in this world. Those with a fixed mindset and those with a growth mindset. Those with fixed mindset believe that we are all born with innate levels of intelligence. Some people are born smarter and will always be more intelligent.Those with a growth mindset believe that we are capable of learning and becoming anything regardless of our current capabilities and capacities.

One of the biggest challenges of having a fixed mindset is that you want to maintain your level of prestige by only producing your best and showing the best of your abilities. The challenge with this is that means you are unwilling to try to do things that you are not confident you can do well or better than everyone else. So, you just don’t do it.

If you have a growth mindset you know that even if you are not great at something you can BECOME great.

I must confess it sounds a lot easier than it really is. Reading it, yes that makes sense. Doing it, and continuing to do something your not great at with the hope, and belief you can be great, now that is hard. That takes courage. That takes confidence.

“Your vision for you and for those you love must not be limited by your current competence, capabilities, and circumstances”

Brendon Bruchard

Believing you can do something and actually doing it are two very different things.I am learning for myself that I can have a game plan that seems to guarantee success. Unshakable confidence in myself. Then I go out and and put it to the test and find out that it didn’t go the way I thought it would, turns out I’m not as good as I thought I was, and that’s a punch in the face.

Mike Tyson put it best when he said “Everyone has a plan until they get punched in the face”

I am learning for myself that things are not going as planned, It’s not as easy as I thought it would be and I am faced with a decision. Do I quit to avoid the realization that I could give it my all and fail or is the chance at success worth the failures to get there?

I believe that is the question that we have inside of us that is at the core of our decisions when choosing to do something new, untested, and uncharted. Whether conscious or unconscious, it looms in each of us.

I’ve made my decision and I will continue to fail and do things wrong with the hope that I will eventually learn how to do it right. So the only remaining question is what will you do?

--

--