The Price of The Tailored Suit

Todd J. Libman
Tools for Entrepreneurs
2 min readDec 18, 2016

Years ago, if someone uttered the phrase self-employed, I would have conjured up images of a dude in $2k Suit driving a BMW following up on prospects. Stopping by Starbucks and dropping a $5 bill for some over caffeinated sugary drink only because he can. If you were like me schlepping at some dead end job being told by Herman, the store manager that you could not clock out until he scanned the store for something out of place. You know the type, a big bellied, double chin, heavy breathing retail store manager. The dude that was too scared to confront his fear and demons so he dedicated his life to mediocrity and paving the way for you to join him. No thanks! Forget Herman for a minute. So like me, you probably doubted your ability to become the Suited BMW driving salesman previously mentioned. Then at some pivitol point and maybe some life event you awaken to confront your own fears.

You decide to take the plunge from the 12th story office building that represented a steady paycheck with benefits to wear The Suit. Onto the street below teeming with other entreperneurs. Some hard working and honest while others are just straight out pariahs. And the self-inflicted wounds begin….so you go to your local bank to open a business savings account. The bank executive greets you with all the familiar niceties you would expect to be garnished on a customer. She begins to explain how she could help me in my new self-employed venture with referrals and introductions and even some social media site dedicated to local small businesses. After opening my new account, I left there puffed up and thinking…yeah I got this. My engine had not cooled off before I started getting calls from the bank’s financial planner trying to sell me various bank products. I got pimped!

Next, I try to set up my new business website and then I hear about the dreaded acronym SEO. No money coming in, just bought E & O insurance, moved money from savings into the new business account so I do not get charged any fees, need some new clothes, business cards etckeep in mind, I have yet to even make any cold calls or meet any prospects or referrals.

I send out hints to family and friends…. “ uh I started this new business and I would love to offer my services..maybe send you some quotes”….mostly silence. And so I receive the rejection and I press on.

My image of the SUIT was tainted by my own insecurities. And so I had to face down my fears. Strip away the pride to embrace the risk of economic uncertainty and vulnerability. What I am discovering is if you stay the course it leads to character development, uncovering your capabilities and authentic relationships. The moral of the story is: The tailoring of the Suit takes time.

--

--

Todd J. Libman
Tools for Entrepreneurs

Husband, father, dreamer, and trying to practice vulnerability.