Why I Fell in Love With Dynalist

It’s the perfect to-do app for me. But is it right for you? Probably not.

June Thomas
Tools for Writing

--

Photo by: Matthew Henry, Burst

Like every single person who would click on a story about to-do apps, I’ve tried a million to-do apps. I’ve spent time and money digging deep into Omnifocus. I’ve built databases in Notion, and I’ve done a few things in Things. Todoist? I’ve triedist.

I have no gripes with any of those programs, but inevitably at some point, we drifted apart. After a period of mutual neglect, my phone screen became cluttered with drawings of tiny clouds. Offloading! A sure sign that a digital relationship has reached its natural conclusion.

I don’t believe in love at first sight. It’s obviously romantic baloney. An instant connection is a superficial connection. The only way to start a lifelong relationship is after a careful program of research, side-by-side comparison, and scientific testing. At least when it comes to to-do apps.

But the second I laid eyes on Dynalist, I just knew it was for me.

I got my first glimpse at its potential in a YouTube video on Francesco D'Alessio’s Keep Productive channel, in which Herb Caudill demoed his Dynalist setup. I don’t really know why it appealed to me so much — something about the simplicity and flexibility of an outliner with the ability…

--

--

June Thomas
Tools for Writing

Journalist, podcaster. Writing a book about lesbian cultural history for Seal Press. Co-host of Working, Slate’s podcast about the creative process.