What should AI Self-Identify with?

AI with personality and without.

Adesh Acharya
Tools Tales
Published in
5 min readFeb 11, 2024

--

Image generated by the author from DallE
  • Like all aspiring writers I was disturbed when there was news about AI replacing writers. I didn’t hate AI as much as I hated the companies that rolled out creative AI. ‘How can they do this?’ I complained. ‘How much money do they need! How can we allow wealthy tech businessmen to make human written content and human writers obsolete?’
  • The proof that I didn’t hate AI was that a couple of years before ‘AI writers’ hit the internet’s mainstream, I was intrigued by virtual beings so much that I had attempted to create one myself. I created an avatar, gave it a name (Oonta), and made a few designs before I ran out of technical abilities and resources.
Oonta trying to figure out when and how ‘he’ would come to life.
  • But I grew out of writers’ insecurity thanks to the way writers, creators, and intellectuals responded to the AI threat. I found them unwilling to give in. I found them willing to understand/expose AI and co-exist. No matter what computers generate, humanity is at loss if it doesn’t have human thinkers and writers.
  • At this point, I want to share my opinion on the term AI:
    It is a useless term. AI is just modern computing.

--

--