I Never Drink! But No, I’m Not Straight Edge.

Toon Carpentier
Toon Carpentier
Published in
3 min readNov 30, 2015

A post dedicated to the fact I don’t drink, smoke or do any other type of drugs. I don’t think this is anything special but because getting wasted is celebrated in today’s culture it’s my attempt add a counter balance.

Proof that there is also another option.

A little FAQ.

  • Yes, never.
  • Nope, not even sometimes a little.
  • I actually never smoked or did any drugs. I stopped drinking alcohol when I was 17.
  • No, I’m not straight edge.
  • No, I probably wouldn’t date you if you do drugs. If you smoke you better also have a PhD and a D-cup.

Why oh why?

So why did I stop drinking at 17? Cause I’m that awesome already. I didn’t need it.

Instead of all those silly questions the only relevant question is, why do you do it? It’s totally ridiculous that people assume by default that you drink a lot.

I already embarrass myself enough and make stupid decisions and all the time. I don’t need alcohol/drugs for that, nor do I need it as an excuse after.

While I’m a strong believer in everyone minding her/his own business here are just three arguments why you should consider be sober.

Why should you be sober?

  1. If you are not sober when getting outside your comfort zone, let’s say the first time you make a move on girl/guy, dance your ass off or just push your boundaries in general, it will become pretty hard to do it sober later.
  2. You might be able to stop after some recreational/social use, but for others it will escalate to a problematic addiction. It’s insane how normal it has become to peer pressure others into those habits.
  3. It’s a waste of time. If you are aiming for world domination or just want to make something of your life, you don’t have time for all this shenanigans. Bring your A-game all day everyday and not waste your time in bed, feeling awful.

In more than one occasion I experienced that being sober is a way of being socially handicapped, even in a work environment. I compensate this with being more awesome and more reliable.

That doesn’t mean I have only sober friends. I have a few who easily compensate my lack of vices and I love them equally.

So why am I not straight edge? Straight edge is just a brand name. It is like calling every tablet an Ipad. Who does that?

Thanks so much for reading! If you enjoyed it, would mean the world to me if you shared it with someone. :)

--

--

Toon Carpentier
Toon Carpentier

Talent Developer currently at a one year sabbatical - Pushing people to make the most of their talent. Contact : toon@tooncarpentier.com