College Decision Day

Da Hood Journal
Top Level Sports
Published in
7 min readApr 29, 2020

--

Me (left) and my best friend, Kebra (right) at our high school’s “College Decision Day” in May 2019.

Hello everyone! With National College Decision Day coming up, I wanted to share my story on how I decided to attend my college, SUNY Oswego. Enjoy, and please share it with your friends!

DISCLAIMER: With the COVID-19 virus impacting our world, let’s educate ourselves, and others, on how to prevent this virus from spreading even further. Remember to wash your hands frequently, practice social-distancing, and pray, that we can leave this pandemic behind us.

This story begins on January 31st, 2019.

It’s a typical Thursday. Get to school on time for study hall. Then, eight periods of classes. After, attend a second study hall session, before a two-hour basketball practice.

This day was significant for two reasons. One, former Knick Kristaps Porzingis was traded to Dallas, for Dennis Smith Jr. and stale chips. As a diehard Knicks fan, I can never get over that.

Kristaps Porzingis was traded from New York on the day I received my first college acceptance. Such a bittersweet day.

The second reason was, I received my first college acceptance. In the two weeks prior to this day, I was feeling anxious. Others in my seniors class were getting multiple acceptances before I got my first.

--

--

Da Hood Journal
Top Level Sports

A platform for talent brewing across NYC to be introduced to the world.