Connor Groel
Top Level Sports
Published in
3 min readJul 15, 2019

--

Feb. 2023 Update: Top Level Sports is not currently accepting new writers. I apologize for any inconvenience.
-Connor

*updated June 2020

Introducing Top Level Sports

Here to create a community of passionate sports writers and readers.

Hi. My name is

, and I’m the editor of Top Level Sports, a sports publication here on Medium. I want to create a welcoming community where people can write and read great sports content.

That means I’m looking for writers. But first, a small introduction.

Background

Back in 2014, I started Top Level Sports as a blog when I was a high school student. Over the next five years, I wrote hundreds of articles on a variety of different sports, which can still be found at toplevelsports.net. Along the way, I also started podcasting, hosted a weekly NFL talk show on Facebook Live, and became a highly ranked bracketologist.

In May 2019, I started writing exclusively here on Medium, looking for a larger platform where I could interact with other writers. Over the last year, I brought back Top Level Sports as a Medium publication and have published work from more than 30 writers from across the globe. I also graduated from the University of Texas at Austin with a degree in sport management and published my first book featuring a collection of my Medium work.

What I’m Looking For

Anything related to sports. (That was easy!) But seriously, I’m looking for whatever you want to write about. That means any sport or any sports topic. Opinions, analysis, predictions, etc. Got an idea? Go for it.

I’ve been known to drop some less-than-conventional stuff occasionally myself. Here is a 5,000+ word short story about a future where March Madness has 368 teams and takes place entirely in 24 hours. If that’s fair game, so is whatever you’re thinking of.

It doesn’t matter if you’re experienced or not. I’m here to support you, and hopefully, other writers will do the same. As I said, the goal is to create a community.

How to Write For Top Level Sports

Send an email with your Medium username to cgroel@yahoo.com with a subject along the lines of “Top Level Sports Writer Request” or message me on Twitter @ConnorGroel.

Additional Info

  • Both drafts and published pieces are fine, but for obvious reasons, if it’s already published, make sure the topic is still relevant (i.e. not a prediction or preview for a game that’s already happened).
  • In most cases, I’ll publish pieces within 24 hours, but understand that things might come up. If it’s been longer, send me a note.
  • By default, all posts will be shared on the Top Level Sports Facebook and Twitter. Let me know if you would prefer otherwise.

If you’re looking for a place to publish sports content, you’ve come to the right place. Let’s do this.

--

--

Connor Groel
Top Level Sports

Professional sports researcher. Author of 2 books. Relentlessly curious. https://linktr.ee/connorgroel