BOOK REVIEW

The Dynasty by Jeff Benedict

A chronicle of the New England Patriots era

Stuart Grant
Top Level Sports
Published in
6 min readJan 10, 2021

--

The Dynasty by Jeff Benedict
photo by Stuart Grant

The Dynasty by Jeff Benedict, Avid Reader Press, New York, N.Y., September 2020

Before I begin, I have a disclosure to make. I hate the New England Patriots. I hate their successful run in this era and I hated them going back to the Steve Grogan/Tony Eason days. I hate their reign of superiority over the teams I love (Buffalo Bills, Oakland Raiders (yes, I know where they play now, I wasn’t born yesterday) and Seattle Seahawks).

I always saw them as smarmy and self righteous. They acted as if they knew something you didn’t like an Ivy League poser who’s never wiped his own behind. They trot out trick plays as if to say “We’re Ivy League smart and you’re not”.

I’m not anti-Boston. I’ve admired the Bruins, Red Sox and Celtics over the years. I have vacationed in Massachusetts several times and enjoyed each trip immensely. I adore Cape Cod and Martha’s Vineyard and love the great museums and attractions in New Bedford and Fall River.

As much as I hate the Patriots, I love the NFL and am treasuring this season’s games in ways I have not in past years. It’s not because New England is losing, either. I’m simply grateful that my favorite spectator sport is still on TV. The quality of…

--

--

Stuart Grant
Top Level Sports

disparate parts coalescing toward a greater meaning in the pursuit of a fully realized life