The Joy and Sorrow of Being a Buffalo Bills Season Ticket Holder

Plus a tip for scoring NFL playoff tickets

Stuart Grant
Top Level Sports

--

courtesy alklenk on Pixabay

I was a season ticket holder of the Buffalo Bills from 2006 to 2018. During that time, the team had winning records only in 2014 and 2017. In fact, you could point to any ten year period in that time frame and call it, what fans refer to, as the Decade of Fail. There has been a lot of futility for Bills fans up until the hiring of GM Brandon Beane and Head Coach Sean McDermott.

I became acquainted with the team during their glorious Superbowl run from 1990–1993. A friend had purchased a spot for me on a bus tour and I got to see the glory years team beat John Elway and the Denver Broncos. I went again that year when the team clinched the AFC East division versus the NY Jets. This was back in days when your tour bus got waved through the Canada — US border with any form of ID.

This was pretty heady stuff for someone raised in small towns in Northern Canada. I didn’t think I’d ever get to see a live NFL game in my life, never mind go a few times a year. My father went to an American university on an athletic scholarship and preferred the American game so that’s what we watched on Sundays at home growing up.

My life’s path took me to the Northeast where many great American and Canadian sports…

--

--

Stuart Grant
Top Level Sports

disparate parts coalescing toward a greater meaning in the pursuit of a fully realized life