What I’ve learned with Ed Catmull (Pixar Animations Studios CEO)

Nuno Oliveira
Top Level Sports
Published in
2 min readApr 30, 2020

I just finished reading the book “Creativity, Inc.: Overcoming the Unseen Forces That Stand in the Way of True Inspiration” written by Amy Wallace and I’m amazed.

As the owner of a little football agency, but already leader of a small team of five football scouts that putt the short free-time of theirs lives to work for a small fee and help me build one of the business goals of my life, I feel “obligated” not only to give an extra-mile a day, but also to be able to increase the fee that I can give to them, and to find ways to inspire myself to learn to be a better manager for them.

After all, the time that they could spend with their families, they spend with me and my business. Our business.

This book is a true masterpiece about how to manage a business in a good manner, whether is it a small or a huge business, like Pixar Animations Studio. I´m going to summarize the five lessons that I will hold on to my life and my company.

  1. Be Honest

You don´t need to have all figured out as a manager, but you need to be honest all the time with the people that work for and with you.

2. Create a comfortable environment

Feed a space where everyone fells free and comfortable to talk and say what they really think. We all want to work on a space that feels safe.

3. Be Available

You need to have time to listen more than you talk so, create time to be with your employees, nobody wants an unreachable boss.

4. Daily Feedback

Encourage your employees to show you the unfinished work, everyday. This might be one of the best thing that I read in this book.

5. Keep pushing you

Try hard to be a better manager, every day and you will be able to grow, for sure.

--

--

Nuno Oliveira
Top Level Sports

Broadcast TV Business Developer and Storyteller, 26 years old. Data and Football. Can I have all the books of the world?