In a lonely place

Le Fou
Top Movies
Published in
2 min readApr 26, 2017

When Humphrey Bogart appears as the main character in a film you expect some level of quality, and surely this one has it. It’s a story about a problematic screenwriter who gets involved in a case of murder, a very simple plot you’d say. But you know that can’t be all. Right from the beginning of the movie you notice there’s more even before it comes you feel it.

And it slowly starts to appear, piece by piece the big picture starts to form itself until you can see it completely. And you enjoy it. The words the images, the sounds everything appears to be in the perfect place and appear at the perfect moment.

About the main characters, we have Humphrey Bogart who performs like Humphrey Bogart always does: his expression showing sadness, his eyes staring into space, his hands moving indifferently ignoring the world surrounding here, to say it in a few words, impersonating the same tormented and defeated guy he used to impersonate. And he was the best at doing so.

On the other side, the female character impersonated by Gloria Grahame was a great surprise, at least for me. I didn’t know Gloria had that huge personality. She’s the one who gives value to the film, who takes it from being just another regular drama to be a masterpiece worth seeing, sharing, recommending and of course, loving. Her voice is so charming, her movements are so elegant and her presence is so powerful that while I was watching the only thing I cold do was to admire her.

Also, this film has great dialogues and memorable quotes like:

1. “There is no sacrifice too great for a chance at immortality.”

2.”I Was born when she kissed me, I died when she left me, I lived a few weeks while she loved me”

I really liked the second one.

In a lonely place is in short words a a film worth watching, with great actors, great moments, and great dialogues, it surely deserves to be called a classic movie.

--

--

Le Fou
Top Movies

I’m a big dreamer or maybe a bitter cynic defeated as always. Sometimes I’m a fool, other times I’m a madman trying to be nothing. I also write.