Grammar Crammer: Importance of Punctuation

Ambika Jadhav
Toppr Tutors
Published in
2 min readJul 10, 2019

I like cooking my wife and my pets.

Doesn’t that sound like a murderous person?
Well, without the correct punctuation it definitely does. But was this the real intention of the speaker?
I dare say no.

I like cooking, my wife and my pets.

This is what the poor man wanted to say but ended up sounding like a murderer. If only he knew the importance of a comma. But why just a comma, he should know the importance of all punctuation marks.

Imagine a question becoming a statement.

You have served your resignation.
You have served your resignation?

Imagine the shock you would feel when someone informs you that you have resigned instead of asking you. Not a pleasant scene, is it?

Your smart Sam.
You’re smart, Sam.

The prior sentence might get you to wonder who is this Sam that belongs to you. But the latter is an obvious compliment to Sam.

These are just a few examples why punctuation plays a major role in our lives. Don’t be a fool, learn the use of punctuation like the back of your hand so that no one laughs behind your back.

In the end: It is your opinion that matters and your words that are at stake!

--

--