Mother Nature

Ashley Cooper
Toronto Fitness
Published in
2 min readDec 6, 2015

Owning your own business and being a full-time caretaker can be hard, but Cathy Morgan shows that she would not have it any other way.

Morgan, 64, from Bowling Green, owns her own cleaning business and is the primary caretaker for her son Junior Morgan who was diagnosed with Down syndrome at two months old. Junior is now 33.

“I leave every morning around 7 or 8 a.m. Once I get off work, I take him to cross fit, dance practice or bible study and now he is about to start cheerleading. I have to make time to get him from point a to point b everyday,” said Cathy. “I will always believe in Junior anytime he wants to try something new, like swimming or ice skating. I always let him try anything he wants.”

After a long day, Junior and Cathy stop at Baskin’ Robbins to enjoy ice-cream. Cathy is Junior’s primary caretaker and his mother. “When I first had Junior I though what did I do to deserve this — but years later I wonder what did I do so good to deserve him because he has been such a blessing.” she said.
Cathy sweeps one of the houses she cleans. Cathy waited tables for 26 years when one of her customers asked her to clean their house. After that she had 35 houses to clean and started her own business. Cathy starts off her day early in the morning around 7 or 8 a.m. After work at 4 p.m., she takes Junior to cross fit or the Buddy House. “The reason I enjoy cleaning houses is because it’s the only time I’m really by myself,” Cathy said.
Junior relaxes after trying to hold himself up for a 30-second plank while at Old School Cross Fit. “I always think they over work him at cross fit, but Junior has never complained. He is very dedicated,” said Cathy.
Cathy watches Junior as he finishes his workout at Old School Cross Fit. Cathy takes her son to several extracurricular activities each week and stays the entire time until he is finished. “When he was 10, I could have used a break, but now if he goes with my daughter I want him to come back home, because it’s like my arm is missing.”

--

--

Ashley Cooper
Toronto Fitness
0 Followers
Writer for

Student at Western Kentucky University studying Photojournalism.