The Weight Loss Marathon

Emily Looney
4 min readDec 9, 2015

--

I have tried for years to lose weight. I consider myself average sized, but still a little overweight (thanks a lot four years of college pizzas and fried dining hall choices). If there is a person who exists out there who truly isn’t concerned about their weight on a regular basis, I would love to meet you to learn your ways.

Fad diets are intriguing to me. They claim to change your lifestyle for the better — especially recently when consumers have stopped trusting just any fad out there that claims you’ll see “results in as little as 3 weeks!” or “lose 10 inches in 10 minutes!” By the way, I hope that one doesn’t exist because that sounds supremely unhealthy. I’ve tried a fad diet or lifestyle-changer in the past, such as Advocare. I’ve thought about Thrive. I’ve considered starting the Beach Body programs. I get all of the messages about It Works products that I’m sure you also get peppered with on a weekly basis. While I have nothing against these lifestyle changers, I’ve never been able to follow through with them because I’m either unmotivated, I don’t have the money for them, and I don’t want to sell the products. When I tried Advocare last January, I thought it would be a great way to lose a bit of weight and feel healthier before my brother’s wedding. (which was in a few weeks). Talk about a terrible idea. It’s really challenging to start eating cleanly, avoiding alcohol, and working out more in the first place — not to mention when there is another big life event, such as a wedding.

To give them credit, Advocare (and other companies I assume) warn you to not start the 24 day challenge when there is a big event or holiday coming up. The self control is hard enough, especially when the big event literally revolves around food and alcohol. I really enjoyed some of the products, like Spark and the meal replacement shakes, but keeping up with the replenishment of these products adds up to a huge expense over time. As someone who is six months into her first full-time job who is also saving for a wedding in less than a year, I really don’t have a lot of extra money to be throwing around.

So what about that good ol’ lifestyle change that includes watching what you eat, eating less calories than you burn, working out, and staying disciplined? I can’t even tell you how many times I have used MyFitnessPal for a few weeks then gave up after a discouraging night of eating too much Hotbox Pizza and their savory bread sticks. I’ve run several 5k’s and trained for weeks at a time to be a better runner. Then, the daylight savings time changes and by the time I get out of work, it’s pitch black out and I’m not comfortable to run alone in the dark.

How can I set goals, stay dedicated to my healthy lifestyle changes, and keep working out when life keeps getting in the way? I have a goal with my fiance to run the Indianapolis Mini Marathon in May 2015. I also want to compete in a sprint triathlon…I just need to work on the whole swimming aspect. I have tons of aspirations for the next year, including feeling stunning in my wedding dress. How am I going to achieve this?

First, I am recognizing that I need to stop beating myself up over breaking my “rules” and avoiding foods that pack more weight on than I can take off. I was discussing these issues with my mom yesterday, who had really toned up and lived a healthier lifestyle in the past few years through sheer dedication. She said getting through the first week is key. Staying on track with the calorie count and food plan you create in the first week will help, and every week after that get easier as your appetite shrinks.

Let’s be honest; the first few days I was hungry. Instead of reaching for chips though, I reached for carrots. Instead of getting a caffeine burst from soda, I drank more water or treated myself to a vanilla iced coffee, a delicious low calorie option. When I feel hungry or get a craving, I chew gum or drink more water. I am by no means denying myself food. I eat a balanced breakfast, lunch, a snack, and dinner, but in smaller portions and with healthier options.

Second, I am keeping myself accountable through MyFitnessPal by encouraging my fiance to also log his food. By doing this, we are both noticing what we eat, how much we eat, and how to make the next day better than the day we go over our calorie goal.

And third, I am integrating working out more into my daily life. I am fortunate that my work is huge on fitness and wellness, so I have an on-site gym I can use. I look for ways to make working out fun, and I will be training more with my fiance in the next couple of months for our big goals.

I don’t have any huge amazing weight loss story, but I think my journey is similar to others who are struggling with shedding weight or getting more toned. Sometimes it feels like a marathon with no end in sight, but the health and mental benefits from healthy weight loss are worth the work. I am still training for the Mini Marathon, trying to work in core workouts every few days through my free trial with Daily Burn, and practicing some yoga. I think if I write down what my goals are and put them out into the world, it may help motivate me further to treat my body better and use food as fuel instead of a hobby. I’m ready to be dedicated to my journey. If you’re ready to struggle through your journey, I want you to know you’re not alone. Get back on the track — I know I will be on and off of it with you!

--

--

Emily Looney

Orr Fellow at @finishline | Ball State Alum | HR Enthusiast | Crafter | Photographer | Lover of Penguins and Life