Why I Decided to Start a Fitness Blog

Quan Nguyen
Toronto Fitness
Published in
3 min readJan 10, 2016

A few months ago, if you were to tell me that I would be starting my own fitness/healthy lifestyle blog and personal training business, I would have laughed and said you were nuts.

But lo and behold, here I am.

Before we get started, allow me to introduce myself.

I’m Quan. I’m 23 years old, fresh out of college and I aspire to go to law school and become an attorney. I’m also a certified personal trainer.

You might find yourself asking, “Why is an aspiring law student writing a fitness blog?”

Well you see, fitness has been a passion of mine for a long time. I find it empowering in a way that we have a significant level of control over the way our body looks and feels.

To be honest, I had a lot of concerns about starting starting a fitness blog and being a personal trainer. Mainly because of memes like this:

Hilarious, but says quite a bit about gym culture.

If you want to learn more about me, head on over to my About Me page.

I was concerned because fitness, more so than any other niche out there, carries with it a certain stigma.

The stereotypes of a typical gym-obsessed meathead:

  • In love with his muscles and is on a never ending quest to gain more and more.
  • One-dimensional
  • Lives in the gym
  • Slams protein shakes hourly or eats 6 meals a day

That’s not to say that these qualities are true of everybody who loves fitness. I know quite a few guys who come off as a stereotypical bodybuilder but are some of the most sophisticated and intelligent guys I know.

The point of me pointing out those stereotypes was not for you to buy into them. But to acknowledge those stereotypes’ existence and realize that it’s not attractive to be associated with those negative characteristics.

We’ve established who I am. Now let’s get to the why.

So why did I start this blog?

I find fitness to be highly empowering. More often than not, many of the obstacles in our lives are intangible.

Our fitness goals, whether it be fat loss or muscle growth, are very much tangible.

You can touch and feel your love handles shrinking or your biceps bulging.

In my 5+ years of lifting, I’ve accumulated a lot of knowledge.

A lot of trial and error as well as reading and learning from those who have come before me.

It is my intention to share this knowledge with you all to help you avoid some of the pitfalls of your fitness journey.

To read more, head on over to my blog fitonomy.net and subscribe to my newsletter.

--

--