In The Outfield -

Rene Riel
Total Fiction
Published in
1 min readFeb 28, 2022

--

For a brief moment in time we spoke, he smiled and then said “Good-bye”

I can remember when not too long ago, I got a visit. An out-of-this-world type of visit. I recall it being both eerie and nice. It had been years since his death, and he showed up, just like that Like he hadn’t been gone at all.

This all took place when I was in college, and, working part-time singing in a band. I remember how I use to wish that my father could see me singing, or for that matter see my life, period.

We lived in two countries, and the distance was long. So, frequent travel back and forth wasn’t the norm. So, I’ve often said, it seems like I always missed my father.

My music wasn’t as good as my lyrics, so since college, I’ve walked away from music. But every once in a while, the band and I would have a reunion for old times’ sake. During the last reunion, my father walked over to me and hugged me. I was floored. Hi comment, “My stay is only brief, but we’ll meet again”

He stood beside me as I was reciting a new song’s words. He smiled, winked, and said “I like that”. He would smile again and walk away.

He rumbled, “I’ve always heard your songs dear” and, “I’ve always missed you” As I sat in the outfield a chill ran down my spine, and a tear ran down my face. And I walked away knowing he cared.

--

--

Rene Riel
Total Fiction

Writer of many things! If you like spontaneity join my page. If you like fiction and common sense, you're in the right place! You learn something new every day!