Such a Beautiful Girl…Wait is That Blood on Her Hands?!

Awais Shah
Total Fiction
Published in
2 min readFeb 9, 2023
Photo by Jason D on Unsplash

Sometimes, wonder takes you to places you cannot imagine. It puts you in unnecessary peril, and between you and me, it ain’t worth it. It isn't a good way to die either. There will be plenty of “he died while following his passion” but there will also be “he died while jumping from one place to other. What a loser.”

How did I learn this lesson? Sit with me to hear a brief tale.

Among my travels, nothing could have prepared me for the crystal forest. I had seen wonders which would make one question sanity. I had seen witnessed miracles that were so profound that they made one question reality.

However, despite the warnings of fellow travellers and the mystics who met on the path, I had to see this wonderful yet deathly place where crystals grew like plants. I had heard the tales of those who had survived returning with treasures that were priceless.

Damn all! Those treasures were worth anything and no threat of lurking death was enough to stop me.

However, as I was wandering the place where the grass was replaced with vibrant crystals and where the trees grew gems, I saw her. Her graceful figure sat on the trees, the scarlet crystals in place of her eyes staring at me.

A man could lose his senses while seeing a beauty like her, dressed in fine silks. Never mind the unnatural wings around her back and shoulders. Despite her beautiful attire, my insides revolted, telling me to not get near. I had to at least ask her name! I had to at least get a chance to know this beauty!

I will always remember the moment when my fear got the best of me, saving my life. Her figure sitting on the tree hung above a corpse, the heart was torn out of that unfortunate soul. It was when I realized the crystal in her hands was scarlet…it wasn’t crystal but fresh blood and meat…

I didn’t stop and I have never run so fast in my entire life. I could hear screams and flapping of wings but for me, the moment I stepped out of the forest was the last time I would ever come here again. And thus my days of reckless adventures ended soon!

--

--

Awais Shah
Total Fiction

Monday - Wed: Paranormal and Dark Topics, Thursday - Saturday: It's Fiction Time!