The Akul

T. Mark Mangum
Total Fiction
Published in
8 min readFeb 25, 2022

--

Episode 10, The Aftermath, Allen, Rick, and Paul.

Photo by Jonathan Rados on Unsplash

Allen Podella-Larson sat in his bed shivering; his sweat-soaked clothes turned cool. The nightmares started after he had sat with Ryan and the others and listened to Andrew’s account of his and Jim’s encounter with the strange men dressed in black.

“Wait a minute, you are saying that a large black bear morphed into a man, one of these men that Amy, Paul, and I encountered in New York?” Allen asked.

“Yes, it was after we exited the black pool into a massive chamber. There were others there. Other men dressed in black, other people, and other animals. A large buck, a massive Eagle, another Bear.”

“Do you think Jim is dead?” Paul asked.

“How do we find him?” Rick asked.

“I’m so glad I didn’t meet one of those things in Korea,” Chels said.

“I wonder why the one we met didn’t try to take me. I ran into him. He could have snatched me up and pulled me through the portal simple enough.” Amy said.

“Thank God he didn’t,” Paul said.

“Oh, and both Jim and I cut the man; that is why he let us go. The blood on my knife was black, not red.”

After learning everything his friends went through on that night of odd nights, Allen could not stop thinking about Jim. His…

--

--

T. Mark Mangum
Total Fiction

For the serious reader. Short, compelling fiction for the serious reader. I use Imagination, wonder, and surprise to create my tales. Please Enjoy reading them.