Historical Fiction

The Unraveling

Sheri Jacobs
Total Fiction

--

of Amelia Fluchter

A teenaged girl contends with the death of her father and her mother’s denial in a coming of age YA historical piece.
“Bad weather always looks worse through a window.”-Tom Lehrer (Image on CANVA)

Spring 1995

The sky is the color of a worn Brillo pad. This is what I’m thinking as I sit in the passenger seat of our Corolla. It is why my mother gnaws away at her non-existent fingernails behind the steering wheel, why backing out of our parking spot and actually heading to a store remains a merely contemplated idea for the past twenty minutes.

My father is dead — another thought that forms unannounced as I consider the tinny sky.

Mother Nature was pissed that day too. Only the world above our heads casts a different hue because it’s a Long Island sky, not a Houston one. Funny how storms can look so different based on where they happen.

No, not funny. Nothing is funny about different skies.

Something else that is not funny: My mother studying my breasts, moving her tiny hand away from her mouth just long enough to suggest touching them.

“We really need to take care of that. I mean look at them, they’re practically falling out,” she says.

I shove her tentative hand away and take pleasure in the wounded expression that crosses her dark eyes. In the back seat, my little brother’s head leans in from the back…

--

--

Sheri Jacobs
Total Fiction

Author, Educator, Actor www.sheri-jacobs.com Author of children’s book DREAM WRITE (pen name, Kiss) and the non-fiction book, THE FRIENDSHIP DIET. VO/film actor