“Are You Afraid of Happiness [Quiz]”

Jess Brooks
Totally Mental
Published in
1 min readAug 4, 2014

“Not everyone experiences happiness as a good thing. Some people feel a sense of anxiety or fear when fortune favors them, and that reticence can lead people to suppress positive emotions to an unhealthy degree.”

It’s a short quiz that is way more useful than anything on buzzfeed right now.

It feels so relevant to work I’m doing right now thinking about teen mental health in my hometown, and the values we grew up with. And part of that is a lot of self reflection about my own relationship with happiness and with stress/anxiety, and why it feels much more natural and goal-directed to be in a state of stress.

Related: “The Silicon Valley Suicides”; “How I Learned To Be OK With Feeling Sad

--

--

Jess Brooks
Totally Mental

A collection blog of all the things I am reading and thinking about; OR, my attempt to answer my internal FAQs.