Creating Opportunities for Yourself

Janessa Smith
Touch of Gold
Published in
3 min readApr 26, 2017

Shortly after my collaboration in my last post, I was given the opportunity to sit in on a model call and record if I wanted to. I was given details and the date was such short notice. Now, normally the old mentality I owned would’ve flaked, but “productive-Ness” was the new mentality I wanted to stay. The model call was on Sunday and I was invited on the day before. I decided to go in the final hours leading up to the event.

“Model Call” screen cap of the BTS footage.

I walked in and heard murmurs of women’s voices and over those voices, I heard a loud laugh and a strong voice to follow. That voice belonged to Sharita Benson, the owner and designer behind By S. Benson, a clothing line for every[body]. I instantly recognized a few faces of the ladies behind the organization of the event and glanced over the crowd of beautiful faces. Instead of waiting for instruction, I instantly sat on the floor and and began to set up. I walked around, practicing my ninja walk as I got close and personal, recording anecdotes and inspirational talk. That day I captured women that eventually evolve into goddesses, the start of many friendships and a sisterhood, a sisterhood that I was now in the fold with.

“First Pratice” screen cap of the BTS footage.

Over the next few Sundays, I recorded practices, went on a walkthrough with the designer and models and got to know the process of putting on a huge production. I realized how much I admired Sharita’s vision. She wasn’t all talk, if she wasn’t able to do something, she wasn’t afraid to admit it. She put in whatever work that it took to get what she want and needed. She reminded me so much of me and my personality, wanting to do EVERYTHING versus delegating tasks. One thing that I aspired to have that she was growing was her circle of support. It was awesome seeing the people that came in day one and watching that number multiply by the day of the show and everyone putting in major work.

“Show Prep” screen cap of the BTS footage.

THIS. This was the result of me opening my mouth and asking a friend who helped me out by modeling for a video, if there was anyone that she might’ve known of that would like any assistance. The fact that it was someone whose work I noticed a long time ago, made it even sweeter. I was familiar with the clothing line and thought to myself, “this needs to be seen”. Fast-forward to today where our promotional video for our behind the scenes feature is now live and people were excited. If you don’t get anything else from this experience, let me break it down to this. Don’t wait for opportunities to come to you, most of the time, and I mean MOST OF THE TIME, you have to create those opportunities for yourself. We are in a serious age of innovators and an entrepreneurs. Go out and make something happen.

Check out the “Purpose Behind the Seams” promo below:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OKFO1TnhIOQ

Would love to hear your thoughts. Leave a response below. And if you enjoyed reading this, click the recommend button below.

Follow my work and blog at TheKnockoutVisual.com, YouTube, and on Instagram. Thanks for reading!

--

--