Introducing Janessa Smith + The Importance of Following Through

Janessa Smith
Touch of Gold
Published in
2 min readFeb 13, 2017

I am a videographer that mainly does photography. Why am I not knee deep in a portfolio of moving images? Probably because I am in the middle of an important lesson at the moment: the importance of following through.

In the beginning, I believe I had “happy accidents” when a photo turned out decent. Little did I know, I was training my eye.

At the start of this endeavor I had a goal in mind with lots of inspiration behind it. The main issue was being stuck in the planning process, absorbing more and more inspiration but not creating enough. I got my start but I never stressed the importance of following through. I’ve struggled with this issue in college when it came to internships. When I made connections with new people, I would have awesome leads but didn’t bother to send a follow-up email. As a result, my chances of getting what I wanted became stagnant and I gained nothing.

From one of my later shoots. This was for a client that wanted to update her brand. I took this on with an improved eye and a lens upgrade.

I fell back on photography because I wanted to learn the basics of capturing images and understanding composition. I also took photos so that I could develop of my personal style in photographing as well as editing. I fell in love with photography. I enjoyed the praises that I received from family and friends. It became a journey for me.

A test shoot for the a music group I plan to direct videos for in the near future.

The only issue is photography is in the forefront but putting out video content is what I longed for. I started The Knockout Visual for videography so now I have to follow through on it. The next couple of months will be dedicated to putting out videos and building my portfolio. To keep myself accountable, I will be entering competitions, online as well as local. Dedicating myself to three or less social media platforms will make it easier to keep up with posting content. It’s so easy to start things and never finish, but that will be a thing of the past for me.

Follow through, follow through, FOLLOW THROUGH!

Would love to hear your thoughts. Leave a response below. And if you enjoyed reading this, click the recommend button below.

Follow my work and blog at TheKnockoutVisual.com, YouTube, and on Instagram. Thanks for reading!

--

--