Why Collaborations are Essential to Growth

Janessa Smith
Touch of Gold
Published in
2 min readMar 22, 2017

Guess what you guys! I have been living in my passion this past month. I have been going out and capturing visuals and working to be an inspiration to others and vice-versa. These past few weekends, I have been collaborating with friends that I am a fan of. It all started with messages sent out about doing promotional work, and dates and times were set.

The talent for my downtown video: Alex

The first collaboration with a friend of mine named Sierra who goes by her middle name Alexandria under her photography brand Alex Tribble Photography, based out of Charlotte, NC. I wanted to capture a moment in a Saturday afternoon of her becoming inspired and taking photos in the downtown Greensboro area. We ventured a few blocks to the different street murals on the sides of buildings. We ended at the courthouse trading ideas back and forth. The visuals came out great. Lots of mistakes were made but it was a learning experience.

The following weekend, I linked up with a friend of mine that was also a former coworker. Her name is Cierra ( I tend to know a few) and she owns a brand called Grahams of Glam and she is a makeup artist that travels around the state for her clients. We met up at a parking deck before noon and initiated the collaboration. I learned a lot about being more free with my creative direction, getting more comfortable with being up close and personal with my model, and speaking up more about aspirations. I expressed interest in doing video work for a fashion designer that Cierra modeled for and she told me that the designer was actually in the market for a videographer. That afternoon I received an invitation for a model call the following day. That opportunity will be covered in a future post.

Getting out there and collaborating helps to get the nervous jitters out. It is always easier to start with friends and work your way to strangers and associates. I feel my circles broadening and I am totally fine with it. It gets nerve wracking from time to time knowing that more responsibility is on the horizon but at the same time, it feels amazing because I get to be as creative as I want to be. I am aiming to align myself with more creative go-getters and, so far, it’s going well.

Get out there and get creative with someone. It leads to more connections.

Would love to hear your thoughts. Leave a response below. And if you enjoyed reading this, click the recommend button below.

Follow my work and blog at TheKnockoutVisual.com, YouTube, and on Instagram. Thanks for reading!

--

--