Internship Review at Touch Technologies

Gunn
Touch Technologies
Published in
13 min readAug 10, 2021

Here is the internship reviews from 3 Computer Innovation Engineering students at Touch Technologies as a back-end developer for 2 month!! šŸ¤Ŗ

left-Pond Middle-Gunn Right-Proud

Gunn

Hello everyone! Welcome to my internship review. My name is Gunn, I am a third-year Computer Innovation engineering (CIE) student at King Mongkutā€™s Institute of Technologies Ladkrabang (KMITL). Today I would like to share my experience interning at Touch Technologies for 2 months with my 2 other friends!!!

During the internship working in the Product and Service department as a backend developer, I was given an opportunity to get an insight on what the actual working environment is as a software programmer. I was introduced to a different set of tools and technologies that are currently employed in the industry. Most importantly, I get to experience the actual hands-on software development, which allows me to make better decisions regarding my future career path.

Here I get to learn more about these tools: Docker, GitHub, MongoDB, Elasticsearch database, Redis, Gin Framework, Kafka, GRPC, and OAuth2āœØ. It seems like a lot of tools but I enjoy learning them and I felt like I could bring all that knowledge to a good use in the future. We not only get to learn about all those tools but we have a chance to implement them in the tasks that were given by the mentors here.

Since this is the first time I am in the actual work place, I was very excited. I made a lot of good memories here, everyone is super nice and willing to help when I encounter problems. The office is full of joy and happiness which always brings a smile to my face. All the staff here make the environment a very pleasant one šŸ˜˜

Interning at Touch Technologies forced me to step out of my comfort zone, since the tasks given by the mentors are the topics that I have never learned in the class before. I need to do a lot of research to carry out all the tasks successfully. The main knowledge I get to experience here is software development, especially in the topic of microservices. I got to oversee every stage of the development, from the designing process to system implementation. I strongly believe that this internship creates a proper foundation of knowledge for me to pursue further studies in the future.

ā€‹ā€‹Not only did I receive technical skills from this internship program, but I was also able to learn many soft skills essential in working as a developer, and to work as a team. The concept in question is Agile. When I was first introduced to the concept, I felt like it did not make much sense but after I got to implement that concept while working as a team, this made a lot of difference. This implementation did not only increase the overall productivity of our team, but it also allows us to be flexible to any problems and changes. Communication among members in the team enables us to reach out to other members quickly and efficiently to solve problems. This encourages collaboration between each team and urges us to resolve the ongoing issues together. Moreover, developers would separate the project into small tasks, and arrange all those tasks in the time slots of 2 weeks called Sprint. This helps us to organize the timeline of the entire project, so we can maximize our time slots to carry out the best possible version of the project to the clients and can adapt to change responsively.

If you want to see another internship review from me, donā€™t forget to check out this link šŸ‘‰šŸ» TOUCH Technologies Back-end Internship Review

Proud

Hi, Iā€™m Kittapa, a third year student at KMITL with a major in Computer Innovation Engineering. Iā€™m here to give a review for my summer internship. So, I decided to do my internship at a company called Touch Technologies. I interned as a backend developer working with Gunn and Narawich.

My first day of internship started with excitement. I was wondering the whole time about what I would gain from this upcoming experience. Moreover, I was more than happy to get to know everyone at Touch Technologies. All the staff looked so smart but friendly at the same time. Throughout the training, I learned a lot. Since Gunn had already written about what we learned, I wonā€™t repeat it. I will give a review mostly based on my feelings.

For the first month of internship, it was onsite. However, COVID-19 situation got worse so the internship was online for another month. Sadly, the internship only lasted for two months. I was hoping that the last week of internship would be on site again. Honestly, I love going to work onsite so much more than online because the productivity and environment at the company is so much better than staying at home.

Touch building is located in Bangkok near Central Rama 9. For me, I went to work using public transportation, the MRT and then motorbike. I worked on the third floor. Since I carry a lot of things like laptop or ipad to work, I find it so convenient to have an elevator inside the building. Each floor has its own toilet and a small kitchen area. My friends and I always order food to eat because we didnā€™t want to go outside the building. Our main task in the morning before working is to order coffee. I think almost everyone at the department is addicted to coffee. The staff always ask us if we want to order anything with them and I found it so touching every time they asked us.

When I was asked what I wanted to learn about in the beginning of this internship, I wasnā€™t sure or knew what I wanted to learn. I choose to intern with the backend team. After the whole internship, I felt like I had come so far from the start. The company gave me knowledge that I wonā€™t be able to earn from the university. They totally let me see the new world with the new knowledge I didnā€™t know existed. My feeling after finishing the internship is that I am so lucky that I was once part of the company.

I wrote two articles about Apache Kafka and gRPC. Here are the links to those articles:

Introduction to GRPC with Golang

Introduction to Apache Kafka and some examples with Golang

After all, I want to say thank you to all the staff at the company that helped my friends and I throughout the whole internship. Without them, my first internship in my life wouldnā€™t turn out to be this meaningful.

Pond

Hi, my name is Narawich Kittijirayu. I am a third year student from Computer Innovation Engineering, KMITL. I have got a great experience during my internship at Touch Technologies for 2 month. Today I would like to share my wonderful experience through this article.

The experience during my internship was great. They let me choose the position that I want to do the internship by myself and also provide a lot of choices for me to consider. But for sure I want to try some back-end development because I got some basic knowledge about back-end and I want to understand it more deeply. For the back-end development internship, the developer taught me how to use nosql databases, searching algorithms, the system architecture, and a lot more. First they teach me about the developer tools such as docker, github, gitflow, and many more. After studying all about those tools, I still donā€™t know how all those tools are important until they let me and my friend try to make a tiny service for yourself. After finishing a tiny service, they taught us about the message broker and many more such as KAFKA and GRPC. As the same, they let us try to use and implement it with our service.During working on implementation, the staff alway helping and consulting us all the time so if we have any help or any bug that canā€™t be fixed, they will be there for us. After trying on a lot of things, they taught us about clean architecture, itā€™s like an architecture that was easy to manage, debug, and edit. And the code in that format was very clean and easy to understand.

After learning a lot of stuff, they let us plan for our project. But before planning, they taught us about ā€œAgileā€ and ā€œScrumā€. It is like a way to work that is able to handle a lot of change and working as a team. After all of those technical and theory is messing around in my head, itā€™s time for a real project. They let us make our own POS system. We named it ā€œPOS coffeeā€. We have a chance to plan our project timeline and also divide the work to each member. Then we start coding. It was quite a hard time for me to code in that architecture, it was not exactly the same as the internet or what we learn. We need to adapt it and implement it in our code. But luckily, they gave us a sample code to be our guideline.

After the POS system has been done, the next task comes. They gave us a challenge to make the OAuth2. Itā€™s like a security system. The login/logout system. That was new for us but of course we accepted that challenge. I think the most difficult part of OAuth2 is the flow. It takes a lot of time to understand the flow even though we got a diagram from the SA team. The system includes 3 services which are Authentication, OAuth, Authorization. So each of us is responsible for each service. Itā€™s very complicated and it was tough work for me but I was so happy when the code was finished and able to run. While working on the OAuth2 system, they let us write our own article on the medium about what we have learned so far. My topic is Elasticsearch and Agile methodology.

For the last challenge, they let us find a template for a front-end part. FOr me I did not like the front-end, it is not my type of work I guess. BUt finally we decided to build one for ourselves. So we design the template, convert it into HTML and CSS then we use react to code our front-end part. Unfortunately the time has come, we did not finish it on time but some of the pages are already done. I still did not like it but it also has a fun part such as connecting our front-end with our back-end system that we build. And after I see things in a big picture and it was an unexplainable moment, Iā€™m so happy with the result even if it isnā€™t complete.

My friend and I have been through this internship. It was not really excellent or perfect due to covid-19 situation. If we have more time to spend at the Touch building with the friendly and kind developer team and others staff it would be great. But the past 2 month is very fun and it has been a tough challenge but after we have done each challenge that they gave us, it makes us happy. It also gives us a lesson, knowledge and a lot of great experiences. It was one of the great moments of my life because all of the staff and developer team did not see us as an intern or trainee, they treated us like a one member of a company, as their junior.

Last but not least, if some of touchā€™s staff or touchā€™s developer team got a chance to read this article. I want to thank all of the developer team and touchā€™s staff that treat and care about me and my friend so well. Thank you for all of the knowledge and the lesson. Thank you for advice on both technical and life lessons. Thank you for the way you treat us. Thank you for the time that all of the staff secrafied to take care of us. Thank you for the back-end developer experience. Last of all, I want to thank you for adding one of the great , amazing, nice, and wonderful moments to our life. Hope we have a chance to see you all again. Thank you.

Hi, my name is Narawich Kittijirayu. I am a third year student from Computer Innovation Engineering, KMITL. I have got a great experience during my internship at Touch Technologies for 2 month. Today I would like to share my wonderful experience through this article.

The experience during my internship was great. They let me choose the position that I want to do the internship by myself and also provide a lot of choices for me to consider. But for sure I want to try some back-end development because I got some basic knowledge about back-end and I want to understand it more deeply. For the back-end development internship, the developer taught me how to use nosql databases, searching algorithms, the system architecture, and a lot more. First they teach me about the developer tools such as docker, github, gitflow, and many more. After studying all about those tools, I still donā€™t know how all those tools are important until they let me and my friend try to make a tiny service for yourself. After finishing a tiny service, they taught us about the message broker and many more such as KAFKA and GRPC. As the same, they let us try to use and implement it with our service.During working on implementation, the staff alway helping and consulting us all the time so if we have any help or any bug that canā€™t be fixed, they will be there for us. After trying on a lot of things, they taught us about clean architecture, itā€™s like an architecture that was easy to manage, debug, and edit. And the code in that format was very clean and easy to understand.

After learning a lot of stuff, they let us plan for our project. But before planning, they taught us about ā€œAgileā€ and ā€œScrumā€. It is like a way to work that is able to handle a lot of change and working as a team. After all of those technical and theory is messing around in my head, itā€™s time for a real project. They let us make our own POS system. We named it ā€œPOS coffeeā€. We have a chance to plan our project timeline and also divide the work to each member. Then we start coding. It was quite a hard time for me to code in that architecture, it was not exactly the same as the internet or what we learn. We need to adapt it and implement it in our code. But luckily, they gave us a sample code to be our guideline.

After the POS system has been done, the next task comes. They gave us a challenge to make the OAuth2. Itā€™s like a security system. The login/logout system. That was new for us but of course we accepted that challenge. I think the most difficult part of OAuth2 is the flow. It takes a lot of time to understand the flow even though we got a diagram from the SA team. The system includes 3 services which are Authentication, OAuth, Authorization. So each of us is responsible for each service. Itā€™s very complicated and it was tough work for me but I was so happy when the code was finished and able to run. While working on the OAuth2 system, they let us write our own article on the medium about what we have learned so far. My topic is Elasticsearch and Agile methodology.

For the last challenge, they let us find a template for a front-end part. FOr me I did not like the front-end, it is not my type of work I guess. BUt finally we decided to build one for ourselves. So we design the template, convert it into HTML and CSS then we use react to code our front-end part. Unfortunately the time has come, we did not finish it on time but some of the pages are already done. I still did not like it but it also has a fun part such as connecting our front-end with our back-end system that we build. And after I see things in a big picture and it was an unexplainable moment, Iā€™m so happy with the result even if it isnā€™t complete.

My friend and I have been through this internship. It was not really excellent or perfect due to covid-19 situation. If we have more time to spend at the Touch building with the friendly and kind developer team and others staff it would be great. But the past 2 month is very fun and it has been a tough challenge but after we have done each challenge that they gave us, it makes us happy. It also gives us a lesson, knowledge and a lot of great experiences. It was one of the great moments of my life because all of the staff and developer team did not see us as an intern or trainee, they treated us like a one member of a company, as their junior.

Last but not least, if some of touchā€™s staff or touchā€™s developer team got a chance to read this article. I want to thank all of the developer team and touchā€™s staff that treat and care about me and my friend so well. Thank you for all of the knowledge and the lesson. Thank you for advice on both technical and life lessons. Thank you for the way you treat us. Thank you for the time that all of the staff secrafied to take care of us. Thank you for the back-end developer experience. Last of all, I want to thank you for adding one of the great , amazing, nice, and wonderful moments to our life. Hope we have a chance to see you all again. Thank you.

Thank you!!!!

--

--