A Puppy I Could’ve Saved, Changed Me

Daksh Parmar
Tourist in My Own Country
4 min readJan 23, 2024

I regret it but not anymore

Two  puppies, one brown and one mixed
By Author

I was moved to a new place last year, where there are a lot of street dogs and puppies. Instantly I loved the place!

As an introvert guy, I don’t meet or talk to many people so my general habit is to feed the mother, so she can have more milk for her puppies.

By Author

I got attached to these two puppies, and they were attached to me. Soon the mother trusts me more, leaves her cutiepies at my door, and sleeps under the shade in the hot summer. The white one was a boy named Bijli(Thunder) and the brown one was a girl(Browny). I loved watching them play, as they wrestle, try to bite each other, and bite me with their tiny teeth. Bijli has skin allergies, and she was in the midst of treatment and recovering really quickly.

But it was one dark day, that was one of the worst, for the dogs and me, As it completely changed me.

By Author Screenshot of Zoom Earth

June 6, 2023, A cyclone erupted in the Arabian Sea, near India. The Cyclone was named Biparjoy. At its peak, the speed of the cyclone was 195km/h(118mph), luckily it was still on the Arabian Sea coming towards India as the speed was gradually decreasing.

On June 16 It hits the Indian Coastline, shutting everything down. As per the trajectory, we knew it would soon come, where I lived. But the news said it wouldn’t do much damage since the speed will be really slow. So I was also not very worried.

But the very next day, the storm hits. The cyclone was so big and even half of it hadn’t even reached my place, It was still dark and I couldn’t see the sun for a whole day.

The mother took the puppies somewhere, but I couldn’t find them nor did I go far because of heavy rainfall. That same night one of the puppies “Bijli” came to my doorstep, shivering. With the heavy wind, I opened my gate and he quickly entered, but since my mother has allergies and was also ill. She told me not to let him enter, but after insisting several times unsuccessfully I had to take him out of the house. So I picked him up, and there was an empty house whose main doors were locked but the entry gates were open, and there was a little place, with an old shade where the mom usually sleeps.

So I put him there, he kept coming out in the rain, scratching my leg. Since I am an Introvert, and don’t talk much to my neighbors I had no courage to ask anyone to keep him for some time. I closed the gate, and kept him under the shade, on an old rigid blanket.

The irony was that I kept hearing the thunder that night, and getting more and more worried about my Bijli(Thunder).

The next day, I see something, that no one should ever see. My Bijli was right in front of my house, first I thought he was sleeping, but soon every hair on my skin stood straight and I couldn’t believe, he died. Most probably with hypothermia.

Seeing him dead, completely broke me—the regret of possibilities where If I tried a little more, I could’ve saved him. The Cyclone stood for the longest in my area because the speed slowed, so it took longer to pass.

Thankfully, I see Browny running around, but she had no idea that her brother died. After a few days passed, Browny started eating less and less, I figured she had no one to play with.

I tried to feed her, but she was not eating anything, which made me really worried. But just like her I was also not eating properly for a few days, I went for a walk, found her, and just sat with her, pat her trying to give as much love as possible.

In the meantime, I was feeding her mother, who was also very depressed but soon recovered. I started talking more to people around me, especially to kids. Soon being open and teaching them to be more kind and gentle towards animals and let them pat. I think the best way to make the kids compassionate is to show them yourself.

I am learning how to be more open to people, I still am an introvert but cutting myself from people around me isn’t a great way to go in life. Now everyone knows me in my neighborhood and greets me whenever they see me, even tease me with “How’s your kids?” as in the dogs.

Finally, after 7 months, browny is a tall dog with a healthy body and she runs and jumps with joy seeing me. I hope my Bijli is in peace. She changed me to save other Bijli like her, who needs love. I go for a run and find more puppies which to this day, I take care of. I am selfish to do so, It makes me believe in my true existence.

Thank you for reading this! I hope you like this personal incident, and I insist that everyone, Adopt animals, and help them if you see anyone in need.

--

--

Daksh Parmar
Tourist in My Own Country

Sharing a positive light, from the negative self I was once.