Afternoon Chai in New York City

A trip from the burbs

Sandy Maximus
Tourist in My Own Country

--

Sunrise with the George Washington Bridge in New York
Good Morning New York City! Sunrise with the George Washington Bridge (Author SM, 2024)

New York City — NYC, the city that never sleeps, the city that millions of tourists visit each year and millions more aspire to visit one day is 30 miles from where I live.

The hustle and bustle of this concrete jungle has resulted in people moving to the suburbs to raise their families. I live in one such suburb, 30 miles north of the city along the Hudson River.

For someone who doesn’t work in the city, I find any and every excuse to visit. Typically, it is to meet up with friends visiting NYC, to celebrate special occasions, to watch a Broadway show, or to check out a new restaurant in town.

However, I know many people who will do anything to avoid the city. It depends on individual perspective, but factors like traffic, expensive parking rates, the heat, and the smell of either “pot” or “pee” on the streets can be a deterrent.

But not for me.

I am a foodie and love to explore new places and sites. I have a running list of restaurants to try in the city. Given the slow summer that I am having, I woke up one morning and decided to spend an afternoon in the city.

The destination was a Chai place that had opened up and had been gaining popularity on social media for a few months now. The draw for me…

--

--

Sandy Maximus
Tourist in My Own Country

An academic, a mother, and a wanna-be writer with interests from travel to tennis, personal stories, and life lessons.