COASTLINE FANTASY

Anglesey Island

THE RISING TIDE OF BREATHTAKING WATERS

Susi Moore
Tourist in My Own Country
7 min readFeb 17, 2024

--

Farmhouse (Anglesey) Photo by Author — Susi Moore

This year, I’ve had a very special birthday, a bit of a landmark, and the girls (my three grown daughters) said, let’s go to that new pizza place, mum, it’s had good reviews. Okay, I said. Pizza place. Hmmm. It is what it is, everyone’s busy. It’s fine.

In the meantime, my youngest daughter, Lucy, surprised me by saying she’d booked a cottage in Anglesey for a few days. Anglesey is about 120 miles southwest of where we live. My other daughters, their husbands, and children were going away that week so it would be just me, Lucy, and our dog, Bloom. So, disappointed as I was that everyone else had other plans, I was still delighted to be able to get away to a cottage on the coast.

On the day of traveling, we loaded our bags into the car and Bloom was in the back, on her big comfy bed. It was February, raining, and it gets dark before 5:00 pm. Still, we didn’t head out until 1:00 pm. As the car is electric, we made a few stops along the way for charging. This took up a bit of time and as we neared our destination it was getting dark. We were now well into the remote countryside.

We came to a long and winding road with fields all around. By now it was pitch black, stormy, and we could barely see in front of us. After what…

--

--

Susi Moore
Tourist in My Own Country

Author | Editor | Creative Process | Cheer | Founder of TSN | MuserScribe ⋆⭒˚。⋆ https://medium.com/scribers-nook.