From East To West

Back to Vancouver

Sara Flower
Tourist in My Own Country

--

Credit: Me

I was living my dream in Vancouver, but I felt this deep longing to return to my family. I’m really glad I got to spend more time with my sister, parents, and cousins.

I got a full year in Ontario.

After some time spent closer to home, I realized it was time to go back to the west coast.

I missed it fiercely. Visiting wasn’t enough. I had to move back.

After landing a job in B.C., I booked a flight and spent my final week in Ontario doing lots of things with my family and enjoying Toronto as much as I could.

I decided to fly. Of course I paid extra for the window seat.

My nervous system hasn’t been quite the same since moving away from Vancouver. I of course had some amazing times while in Ontario, but the truth is I missed B.C.

Once the flight and hotel rooms were booked, reality hit. I’d be leaving home again.

I couldn’t wait to be back on the west coast, but it was also sad leaving family again. What’s amazing is they were really supportive of me going back, which helped put my mind at ease.

On my last day in Toronto my sister and I went for lunch and walked to the harbourfront. It was a really windy day. We parted ways on the sidewalk.

--

--