Hampstead

North London

Natalie
Tourist in My Own Country

--

A street in Hampstead.
Photo by author

The rich live here. I was going to take some snaps, but then I thought those are their private residences and I don’t want to put them up for all the world to see!

Hampstead was an Anglo-Saxon village. This period is from 410 to 1066 AD and is known as the Medieval period. Its name is derived from “ham” and “stede”, which is “homestead” in modern English.

A cobbled, hilly, street in Hampstead.
Photo by author

It’s hilly which is lovely for a village.

Growing crops and grazing animals was the norm here, but the Great Plague in 1665 and the Great Fire of London in 1666 forced rich people to leave London for Hampstead, which developed.

In 1852, Hampstead got its very own railway station, and it evolved further.

A church in Hampstead.
Photo by author

I passed by this church, its spire looked splendid!

Famous writers such as Keats, D.H. Lawrence and Katherine Mansfield lived here, as well as John Constable, the artist.

--

--

Natalie
Tourist in My Own Country

A Londoner showing you London. I explore a little bit at a time, taking in some of the history, mixing in a few stories about myself.