Herbert Hoover Birthplace and Historic Site

Iowa Road Trip: Part 4

Nancy Oglesby
Tourist in My Own Country
6 min readMay 16, 2024

--

Photo by author.

The drive home from my sister's is around six hours. There was no hurry to get home since I wouldn’t pick up the dogs until the next day, so I kept my eyes peeled for an interesting off-road adventure… I found one!

I never noticed the Herbert Hoover National Historic Site sign, but this day it screamed, “Visit me!!!

So, I did.

The first stop was the Visitor’s Center where I was greeted by a volunteer manning the reception desk. He shared how the park was laid out, invited me to take a map, and pointed me to the exhibits and self-guided tour.

The exhibits were designed, written, and laid out invitingly. You could get the gist of Hoover’s life with the large A Life’s Journey display, but I was drawn in and walked through the room reading almost every word.

Bertie’s Early Life

--

--

Nancy Oglesby
Tourist in My Own Country

I explore life and tell stories! Embracing the world of Drabbles. Publisher of Fiction Shorts, the Challenged, and Another Fucking Publication