Lions On the Trail?

Joe Peters
Tourist in My Own Country
2 min readSep 1, 2024

All photos by author

California has many parks. Local. State. National. And regional like this one in Sonoma County, in Glen Ellen.

In the heart of the Sonoma wine country the Sonoma Valley Park offers several trails, even a few paved trails if you like. Signs warn of potential encounters with mountain lions but we didn’t see any today.

There’s a reservoir that hikers can circumnavigate with a stop or two along the way to see the ducks and skip a few stones across the water.

There’s a small pond beside one of the trails with a loop around it called the Damefly Loop (photo below).

The area in the far distance was badly burned a few years ago in a fire that also destroyed many homes in the area.

The tree in the photo below is a Pacific Madrone.

It’s recognizable by its smooth, reddish-brown bark. It is able to survive in dry, rocky soils and is also fire-resistant thanks to its thick, fire-resistant bark.

If you’re in California take advantage of any hiking / trekking trail and enjoy a bit of time in nature.

--

--

Joe Peters
Tourist in My Own Country

I write about curious things and things I'm curious about. I live in Japan, but I often travel so I don’t limit my writing to just Japan / Japanese stuff.