Monopoly’s Pall Mall and Whitehall

West London

Natalie
Tourist in My Own Country

--

Photo by author

Coming out of Green Park Station, I spotted The Wolseley, a posh restaurant. My old boss used to dine here and I’d book his table. Now I know what it looks like! Not bad.

Photo by author
Photo by author
Photo by author

I turned the corner into St James’s Street, and there ahead was St James’s Palace. I wasn’t even aware of it!

And what d’ya know, it was built in the 1530s by Henry VIII … who else would it be?

It was constructed where a leper hospital dedicated to St James the Less (the brother of Jesus - although there is some confusion over this) stood.

Various kings and queens used it as their residence.

--

--

Natalie
Tourist in My Own Country

A Londoner showing you London. I explore a little bit at a time, taking in some of the history, mixing in a few stories about myself.